to shoot or not to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
The covering vet (mine is on vacation) called yesterday after I dropped off a copy of Loki's ss, she feels there has been too much change in a short amount of time so she wants Loki on 2 units AM and PM. I started last night with his pm # at 467, this mornings was at 298 and tonight it is at 186. I think I posted her guide lines yesterday but in case I have not I will post them here.
-100 no shot
+200 1 unit
+300 2 units

So my question is this, with the 186 he is lower than 200 but higher than 100 should I shoot him or no?
Thanks will be on for awhile to see if you guys can advise me.
 
As long as he isn't dropping on this test, I think 1.0 is ok

Carl
 
Agree with the one unit. Next time you get a number under 200 at preshot, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If the number is rising, you can safely shoot a reduced dose.
 
Thanks so much just gave him 1 unit and will see how he is in awhile. So 2 units is still kinda high then, will talk with vet in the am and update.
Thanks again so much.
 
The 2 unit dose looked okay on the first couple of shots. But after that, you saw two preshots in a row where the numbers were significantly lower. That's great, except the last one was a number that was too low to shoot, right?

My thinking is that once you got a preshot number lower than 300, 1.5 or 1.75 would have been better. Your vet may not agree, and that's fine. I am not sure whether or not your vet is supportive of doses in half or quarter unit increments. Some aren't, and adjust one whole unit at a time.

When you are at relatively low doses, like 2 units, and you adjust 1 whole unit at a time, that is a huge amount in terms of percentage.

Going from 1u to 2u is a 100% increase in dose. Going from 2u to 3u is a 50% increase in dose. Sometimes 10% or 25% make a lot more sense. Maybe ask your vet what she thinks, or if she even looks at things on a percentage basis?

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top