To shoot or not to shoot? That is the question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatgirlblu

Member Since 2013
So Fluffy was at a BG of 117 today before his insulin shot time. Actually I got home a little late unexpectedly this morning and his shot was supposed to be 1 and a half hour before the time I tested him, in other words I tested him 13.5 hours after his last insulin shot (supposed to be 12 hours but as I said I was home late). He was 117 at 13.5 hours after last dose. So I did not shoot him, I didn't think I should, since that is pretty low (I mean his peak/nadir is usually in the 120-125 range so this was even slightly below that) my vet said to have him in the 100-180 range is ideal...well if he's 117 that's ideal, right? And even after insulin was due? He had a diet change last week too, and stopped giving unapproved treats and he is 100% off ALL dry food (eating only fancy feast classic chicken now)
What should I do?
Also, he just ate, what is the average a BG raised with food and how fast and for how long?
I don't wanna see a high BG from food and assume to give a certain amount but be wrong cause it's just from food...I hope this all made sense.
Thanks!
 
As a newbie who doesnt have a spreadshseet set up, or a reasonable amount of data, we would recommend you dont shoot under 200. So you did the right thing by skipping.

lets see where he is tonite. If he is still under 200 I would skip again.

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
As a newbie who doesnt have a spreadshseet set up, or a reasonable amount of data, we would recommend you dont shoot under 200. So you did the right thing by skipping.

lets see where he is tonite. If he is still under 200 I would skip again.

Wendy

I have a spread sheet on my computer actually but I tried like 10 times and I couldn't figure out how to add it to my signature and I did look at the directions over and over lol I am realy bad at learning new things like excel and google docs, my husband had to walk me through how to even USE the spread sheet never mind place it in a signature lol so I'm working on that! I'll get him to help me with that at some point. I tested him a little over 90 mins past the 117 (he ate right after I got the 117 reading) and he was 170. But that's after food, and the vet just said that's normal for a BG to raise like that after food, so 170 is still good, she said to check every 2-4 hours and if he's like that tonight not to shoot so yeah. Thanks! I hope this is a good sign..
 
It will not hurt to skip the shot and wait until the next one is due. Most likely the next BG will be higher than normal, but that would be expected.
 
thatgirlblu said:
...I have a spread sheet on my computer ....

that might be the problem - we can't see your computer!

Your next step is to create a Google Docs account.

Then you import/upload the spreadsheet on your PC to Google Docs - have it convert to their format.

Then, in Google Docs, you open the imported/uploaded file.

On the left of the menu bar, click File, Publish to Web

On the left of the menu bar again, click File, Share

Copy the link that is displayed.

That is what goes in your signature!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top