To Increase or not to Increase..that is the question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tomtomsmom

Member Since 2012
Well thankfully BF was wonderful, willing and skillful enough to run solo testing today and although not really much of a curve just a few extra day time numbers and I am wondering if I should up Tommy's dose to 1.75u.

Today: AMPS: 316, (+6) 288 and (+8) 204
2/19: AMPS: 289; PMPS 256 (+2) 250 and (+4) 252

Should I run a curve first and then adjust or have I run enough spot checks to at least have some kind clue that it is time to adjust at this time. He has been on 1.5u for two weeks.

Please advise...Thanks! Mimi & Tommy
 
hi mimi!

just to be clear - are you using the Start Low Go Slow protocol? if so, it would be good to put that in your signature line so you don't keep getting asked! i'm assuming you are, just because of your testing patterns.

when i look at tom's spreadsheet, i see those pink numbers, which seem to say that he's hit a lower number and is bouncing from that, but i can't see what he's bouncing from to get there.

i don't think i've visited your condo before, so maybe you've already explained - if so, i apologize for asking again - but are you able to get a mid-cycle test in with every cycle? i don't have as much experience as some people, so i'm not able to see exactly what's going on to be able to comment on dose. perhaps someone else can "read" the ss better than me.

at least this will bump you up. hope you're having a great day!
 
Yes definitely going the slow route. I haven't been able to run a complete curve because of my work schedule, but have tried to at least get some numbers during the evenings when I am home. BF was good enough to go at it alone today and get a couple extra more.

Thanks! Mimi & Tommy
 
Hi mimi,

That's a pretty nice and flat bunch of numbers on Toms ss. Sure you have the odd pink (316) and the odd blue (198) but seriously, there's no bouncing, just a nice meandering along and no progress to head down to lower numbers.

I don't know what meter you are using all the time to test, but if you check for the average on it of all your tests, you will see you are in a good zone in the mid 200s, so you have plenty of room for an increase to get Tom down into an even better zone, with less 200s and more 100s.

From the few mid cycle numbers you have gathered and the curve you might see that Tom's may have a bit of a later nadir, with lowest numbers around the +8, but you will be able to tell more when you do your next curve.

If you were at a dose and each day you were seeing an improvement, with the ps tests getting lower, less 200s and a few more 100s, then you could stay a bit longer, but what you are seeing is flat, no change, no improvement, only meter variance.

I would say for sure you would be fine to increase Tom's dose to 1.75u. What you can do is to try to get a +3 test after the first 1.75u shot, just to be sure Tom's OK with it and not dropping fast from the increase. Good luck on the dose.
 
Thank you Gayle. I am using a Relion confirm meter and I feel comfortable in increasing him to 1.75u. The vet wanted us to increase him from 1 unit to 2 units two weeks ago, but I definitely wasn't comfortable to do that. I am so glad that I took that route and so thankful to the wonderful people here who are kind and generous with their experience and knowlege. I want to definitely follow the tight protocol but just trying to get myself and BF up to speed with feeling ok with solo testing for Tommy. Up until today, it has been a two person job.

Thank you again for your time and kind words... Mimi & Tommy! cat_pet_icon
 
I think a dose increase is in order, as well. In fact, I think you could have increased a few days ago. With the TR protocol, we try to not have a cat stay in higher numbers. It's the only means to reduce the possibility of glucose toxicity.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top