To go off insulin...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oldcatlady

Member Since 2014
Since 7/28, Squirt has had 8 days of 1/2 unit Lantus once a day. Since 8/5 she has had 5 days of 1/4 unit once a day. Her ranges are being more level and normal. Prior to 7/28, she responded to her insulin and was swinging a bit due to getting too much. Reviewed results with vet and he suggested taking her off altogether. I have read the protocol (gave him a copy) and I'm thinking I should keep her on the 1/4 for awhile longer to give her more time. I was thinking she would be kept at a normal range for a month or so before taking off, but is it possible sooner? Like in another week? Her sheet is updated. Thanks!
 
Folks, the link to Squirt's SS is here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

Hi Susan,

It looks to me as though Squirt may be ready for an OTJ trial ('OTJ' = 'off the juice/insulin'). But I'm not clear about what happened yesterday: Did Squirt get .25 of a unit in the morning? (It's in your notes but not on the SS). If Squirt had no insulin since the previous morning then I think she could be ready for an OTJ trial.

Going into remission isn't always a smooth glide and you may well find that Squirt's BG comes up high enough at times to warrant a small dose of insulin to help her pancreas out a bit.
It is possible to measure doses smaller than .25 of a unit, and it may be that you'll need to learn to do that.

Some folks just stop the insulin and see how the kitty does without it.
Some folks give smaller and smaller doses and gradually take the kitty off insulin.
The decision about what to do depends on the kitty, the insulin, and the caregiver's 'comfort level'. Not all caregivers are comfortable giving shots at low numbers.
I am not a Lantus user, and I think you need to hear from folks experienced in using Lantus about how best to proceed in this case.

Regarding the OTJ trial, you would still be testing Squirt's BG morning and evening for a while, and spot check tests throughout the day can also be helpful. You may want to choose a threshold BG number above which you'd give a little insulin.
Giving mini-meals/snacks throughout the day (rather than a couple of large meals) can help stimulate the pancreas to work without giving it too much to do at any one time.

If a kitty remains in normal numbers for 14 days without insulin then we consider that they are in remission.

Keeping fingers and paws crossed for you both.

Eliz
 
Link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

Thanks for the reply. I have corrected the area you pointed out. Forgot to put in the AMPS that the vet gave .25 Sat. morning. Said in my notes but forgot to put in the little box. Also forgot to list the link, sorry. Still learning!
So this morning she was 118. I debated but gave a tiny amount, less than what I consider .25. Plunger pushed in the bottle, then released and the plunger sucked back a smidge. Top of plunger was at about the top of the very top line of the syringe. I was giving an amount where the top of plunger was resting at bottom edge of the top line. Am home for a few hours to check on her response. Will update the spreadsheet throughout the day.
 
Maybe try drop dosing?

Drop method of dosing:
Practice by filling the syringe to the first non-zero mark using an easily visible liquid, such as coffee. Carefully squeeze out equal sized drops - you may find twisting the plunger helps - and repeat until you can get the same number of equal sized drops each time. Now, when you dose the insulin, you can discharge drops (into the sink) from the dose, based on your cat's response.

You may consider "chasing the numbers", too. That means waiting until the glucose gets high enough to shoot.
 
Hi Susan! Glad to see you and Squirt!

I think you need to continue with the .25 a little longer. Squirts still getting into the 200's occasionally and some high 100's...You don't want to rush this because while you might save yourself a little time now, you're more likely to lose remission later and have to start over again. A second remission is much harder to achieve than a first one!

Are you home for awhile now so you can get back to shooting every 12 hours? No boarding for awhile?

We'd generally like to see them in normal numbers for at least a week before trying a reduction or OTJ trial, and right now, Squirt isn't quite there yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top