Tired after Covenia shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Gus

Member Since 2010
Gus has had Convenia before, but he wasn't as sick as he is now - UTI currently combined with pacreatitis and we finished the antibiotics for the irritable bowel (at a reduced dose because those seemed to make him not feel well). They gave me Clavamox at the ER last night, but it worsened his appetite which already isn't good and he vomited today.

His regular vet gave me a syringe of Convenia and Cerenia. I gave him the Cerenia first and waited about 3 hours before giving him the Convenia. I didn't even give him the whole dose yet. An hour after he seems very limp and tired. He is purring and did perk up a little when I brought treats around, but then just fell back asleep.

I read some people posted on other boards that they noticed their cats being very tired after Convenia. I just am in a panic state over everything at the moment and want to make sure he is ok. I don't want to take him back to the ER tonight if this is normal. I know that I feel tired after I take antibiotics, but I'm able to tell people it's the medications. My poor cat isn't. He seemed much better before the shot, but I know we have to get rid of this UTI.
 
Now I don't know what to do. He's had it before, but I didn't notice if there was a reaction or not.

He didn't look good after the Clavamox last night either. He completely lost what little appetite he had and then after the second dose he vomited. I don't know what to do because he has to be on an antibiotic. He reacted negatively to the Metronidazole and the vet reduced his dose.
 
At 4:30 am Gus got up and started eating. He looked fine and acted normal. This morning his BG was 250 - the lowest it's been in two weeks. I'm not sure if I will give him the rest of the Convenia or not. He doesn't seem to handle antibiotics well. I will talk to his vet. I just wanted to update this post in case anyone is worried about giving Convenia. The reaction scared me, but I'm glad that he is ok.
 
I can't tell you much about Convenia... I just peaked at the package insert and it does list lethargy as an known side effect.

Nausea and vomiting is very common with Clavamox. Your vet gave you an anti-emetic (Cerenia). Do you have any of that left? For acute vomiting, you should give it an hour before the meal. You're right in that a UTI needs to be treated and Clavamox does a bang up job if the cat can tolerate it. Also, fluids are top notch therapy to flush out the bladder, so get those in if you can.

A question for your Vet is whether this is an acute episode of pancreatitis or if it's a chronic flare up. In humans, for acute, we hold food and support with IV fluids and electrolytes to give the pancrease a rest. You see, in acute episodes, the pancrease is producing too many digestive enzymes - which is what is causing much of the inflammation and the acute episode.
In chronic, it's a lack of digestive enzymes (so in humans)...we do not hold food, but we supplement with digestive enzymes and probiotics to help ease the flare. Most pancreatic episodes in cats are chronic, but it's important to distinguish the difference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top