Tip isn't acting quite right - Update: Trace ketones

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
So, first, here are the numbers from today(I've also got it in my condo over in tight regulation):

AMPS - 395
+3 - 422
+4 - 381
+7 - 409

I can get a +10 or +9.45 as well, if anyone here thinks it'll be helpful. I started her on 1.5U of lantus this morning as per suggestions made on the lantus - tight regulation board

Now, she's had liquipoo last night and this morning, and has been VERY sleepy, she's drinking more than usual, hasn't wanted to move much, and when she does she's sloth-like and has yet to go to the litterbox today, so I can't test her for ketones. However, she has been eating well.

I'm wondering what might be going on, and when I should get to the vet, if I should go now(they close in about 3 hours), tomorrow, or if I should wait until the 30th, when their yearly is. I'm kind of freaking out about her. ):

Updating here at the top for easy access:

Short version is, no ketoacidosis, good. Told she has hard stools, was given 2 cans of hills prescription a/d and told to increase to 2U within the next few days. She wet herself on the way in to the house from the vets, so I tested her for ketones, and it came up mostly trace, there was a hint of small, but mostly trace ketones. I'm wondering what that means and if it's something to be concerned about?
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

Hi, I'm sorry, I don't use Lantus but I will crosspost in TR for someone to come and help you.

Hang in there.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

personally i'd want that ketone test. i think the vet should be able to do that pretty easily without having to get her to pee. if you can swing it, that would be the way i would go myself.

might as well have the yearly done while you are there since it's so close, perhaps blood panel just in case there's an infection brewing that might have her feeling yucky
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

You've just raised the dose and it can take 3 days to fill the shed, so you won't see the results of the increase until then. Does Tip have a history of ketones? That is what i would be most concerned about. When was the last time you got a ketone test? Many cats do feel bad when they have high BG. If you are worried about the ketones , take Tip in for a test if you can't get one. Better safe than sorry.

Good idea Cindy, if that get a good urine sample it doesn't take long for the blood draw too. Things can get sent out and taken care of.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

So vote is get her to the vet today? I'm not so sure they can do a yearly without prior scheduling. But Christmas needs her yearly as well, so I figure I might as well keep that as is. I'm mostly concerned about another infection. She seems to get them so easily now. ):

Last ketone test was done on the 20th, it was negative for ketones. She has no history of them.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

Alright, so I'm stuck here, it just started pouring down rain, visibility is nearly zero here. So I'm REALLY not sure what to do. Suggestions? I'm going to try to convince her to pee soon to test for ketones, I have some strips that're still good. Let's hope they're negative, but if they are negative, what should I do?

EDIT: I forgot to mention, she is acting a slight bit better after the rain has started, only slightly. Did have another accident(same consistency) though, so it's just less lethargic. That might be the thunder causing her to be a bit restless though.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

Usually a cat with ketones is lethargic, refusing food, have PU/PD, etc. Diarrhea can be a symptom but it's not the most frequent symptom. But, all of these can be symptoms of a GI upset/flu as well. You vet is best equipped to make a differential diagnosis and run the tests to figure out what's going on. I would call your vet and see if you can get Tip in once the rain lets up. A ketone test is easy for them to do in the office. They can probably run other blood work, as well, to make sure there's no infection. They can also take Tip's temperature, give fluids if needed, etc.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

Pu/pd? She isn't refusing food, just want a snack an hour ago, in fact. Ate it all. I'm on my phone because the internet just went out, so I'm sorry if I take a little bit to respond. And it seems to be letting up a small bit. Let's hope it stays that way.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

PU = polyuria (i.e., excessive urination)
PD = polydipsia (i.e., drinking a lot)
These are often early signs of diabetes.
 
Re: Tip isn't acting quite right, help needed

Ah. I'm just back from the vet actually. The vet had given me(free, thankfully) hills prescription a/d because she found what she believes to be very hard stool, in hopes to soften those up, no ketoacidosis, but couldn't check if she only had small or trace amounts, I'm unsure why, but she didn't. This was a different vet than usual, unfortunately, one of the ones I'm not quite happy with, but you do with what you can. Anyways, she said to bump up the insulin to 2U in a few days, to call tomorrow to let her know how Tip is doing, and if Tip refuses to eat anything(the a/d or the special kitty) to bring her in. No poo in the morning(vet said she was full), then to bring her in as well to get that taken care of.

Now, back to the ketones. I was lucky enough to where right as I was getting her out of the car, she pee'd just enough in the carrier to get a few ketostix in. I tested a couple of times, and she came out with trace-small amounts, it was leaning closer to trace, but was in between. What does this mean?

Edited the topic to reflect the update I got since going to the vet.
 
Trace ketones mean you need to pay close attention to ketones until she doesn't show any. Ketones are dangerous in larger amounts and can throw a cat into DKA quickly if any other symptoms occur, such as infection, loss of appetite, stress, not enough insulin, etc.

I would also wait to increase her dosage .... the L's like to increase slower, why don't you get them to advise you on dosage. The RX diets are not usually the best for a diabetic cat. Most of us have been successful with lower carb foods such as Fancy Feast Pates. Eating the right diet can also lower her numbers.

I would be vigilant in testing for ketones, they can take off quickly sometimes, good luck.
 
About how often should I attempt to test for ketones? Because she's been drinking a lot, but peeing very little today, as in, once, maybe twice tops. However, they did giver her fluids, I think it's....sub. fluids? at the vet due to being dehydration, even if she's been drinking a ton today.

Right, I've had her on what I believe to be the lower carb Special Kitty, and prior to that, Friskies. I think she mainly gave me those to loosen the stool, as she said to not give too much or else Tip will have diarrhea real bad, even if it'll get rid of the hard stool she's got in her. But I am still concerned on how that'll mess with her bG.

With the dose, I agree. I did recently switch to 1.5 I'll have to check on how slow to increase her insulin, it's somewhere here. I really should print out all this info and keep it handy somewhere for easy look-up... but I do think she'll need an eventual increase to 2U.

Thanks for the good luck wish.
 
If possible, you want to try to catch her in the act at least once a day if she's showing "trace amounts" now.

Yes, the fluids are usually referred to as "sub-q" (short for subcutaneous) fluids. The slang for them here is "squids". They are injected like insulin, just under the skin for various things - dehydration being one of them. The extra fluid in Tip's body will help flush out her system, and it's common to use them when ketones are present.

Carl
 
Okay, I've been trying today, but I got busy with errands and whatnot and couldn't stalk her to get a test in. I'm going to keep trying tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top