JenM
Member Since 2013
Hi All. Sorry I've been MIA for quite awhile. Things have been going pretty well with Tink - especially these past two weeks or so - NICE numbers lately (anti-jinx!!).
So, my Petsafe5 feeder tried to kill poor Tink the other day. I'm going to have to get on a regular battery changing schedule (or get a battery tester). I assumed it would give me a low battery warning of some kind. Apparently it does not. Had a green preshot a few days ago - thought "huh... that's weird"... shot anyway. He's been taking his low preshots GREAT (finally - and again, anti-jinx!!!). Since preshot was 86, he was sneaking down to the upper 50s by +3.5, so I thought it best to throw an extra bite of food into the feeder to go off after I was in bed. Open the feeder to find all 3 of that morning's meals still sitting there! YIKES!!!! NO WONDER he was so low at PMPS!!! Changed those batteries out right quick like! That could have been SO dangerous - and does make me wonder how low the poor guy got.
Anyway... then a couple days later I get another low PMPS, but just below 100. No biggie. Give him his shot, go about my evening. +3 rolls around and I go to test & feed... GOOD GRIEF!!! 39!?!?!?!?! he's never gone below 45 before I don't think! EEEEEK! So I fed and put a tsp of honey with it. He started coming right back up and never showed any hypo symptoms... but yikes! Of course after the first feeding with honey, I remember DUH... get the HC food dummy! LOL It'd been so long since I'd needed it!
So, obviously we reduced his dose the next morning. However, last night (dose 2 of reduction) he did it again. Nice preshot of 137 - but was at 36 when I tested at +3.5. Granted, again, I'd gotten sidetracked and not fed at +3... but still! Still had some HC in the fridge from the last PJ party... so gave him that and he came right back up.
So... if you've read this far, thank you. LOL I did NOT further reduce his dose based on this last hypo number. Again there were no symptoms - but my rationale was that it was only the second dose of the reduction. Was I correct in this decision??
I do find it noteworthy that we've not seen a bounce from EITHER of these sub40 numbers! And this is from bounce-happy Mr Tink!! Anyway... appreciate any input on holding this reduction or reducing it further. I don't want to derail our great numbers... but don't want to come home to a comatose kitty either.
So, my Petsafe5 feeder tried to kill poor Tink the other day. I'm going to have to get on a regular battery changing schedule (or get a battery tester). I assumed it would give me a low battery warning of some kind. Apparently it does not. Had a green preshot a few days ago - thought "huh... that's weird"... shot anyway. He's been taking his low preshots GREAT (finally - and again, anti-jinx!!!). Since preshot was 86, he was sneaking down to the upper 50s by +3.5, so I thought it best to throw an extra bite of food into the feeder to go off after I was in bed. Open the feeder to find all 3 of that morning's meals still sitting there! YIKES!!!! NO WONDER he was so low at PMPS!!! Changed those batteries out right quick like! That could have been SO dangerous - and does make me wonder how low the poor guy got.
Anyway... then a couple days later I get another low PMPS, but just below 100. No biggie. Give him his shot, go about my evening. +3 rolls around and I go to test & feed... GOOD GRIEF!!! 39!?!?!?!?! he's never gone below 45 before I don't think! EEEEEK! So I fed and put a tsp of honey with it. He started coming right back up and never showed any hypo symptoms... but yikes! Of course after the first feeding with honey, I remember DUH... get the HC food dummy! LOL It'd been so long since I'd needed it!
So, obviously we reduced his dose the next morning. However, last night (dose 2 of reduction) he did it again. Nice preshot of 137 - but was at 36 when I tested at +3.5. Granted, again, I'd gotten sidetracked and not fed at +3... but still! Still had some HC in the fridge from the last PJ party... so gave him that and he came right back up.
So... if you've read this far, thank you. LOL I did NOT further reduce his dose based on this last hypo number. Again there were no symptoms - but my rationale was that it was only the second dose of the reduction. Was I correct in this decision??
I do find it noteworthy that we've not seen a bounce from EITHER of these sub40 numbers! And this is from bounce-happy Mr Tink!! Anyway... appreciate any input on holding this reduction or reducing it further. I don't want to derail our great numbers... but don't want to come home to a comatose kitty either.
! Why didn't I think of this sooner?!