Tinkerbell Rash & Clavamox ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Very Active Member
Thanks for the input everyone on the previous thread. The ones on her face look like they might be drying up already. The new one on her throat, not.

In the previous thread many of you mentioned the following: where do I get this, the OTC at CVS (just give her the human stuff, like w/the lysine?), the vet, or ?

How much do I give her & how often?

No sign of diahera (never could spell that darn word) yet, but just in case...

Acidophiles - Where to buy, what form (yogurt from the supermkt?) & how much to give her? Someone else said probiotics...is this the same thing & again, what form, where to buy?

Pesid AC - I take it this is the human stuff, Dyana, how much did you give J.D. ? How much do you think I should give Tink? She probably weighs about 10 lbs. Janelle said she gave Nomad a quarter tablet of Pepcid (famotidine) 10mg tablets. No vomiting yet w/Tink either but just in case...

Janelle also said she gave Nomad Benadryl...how much?

Anybody know if the board was down again last night? I could not get on at all.
 
If you do get Pepcid make sure its Pepcid AC original strength 10mgs. I would wait to see if Tinkerbell actually has a problem with the ABs. I generally give it apart from meds.

Some people have success with plain yogurt however some cats could have problems with it. It has to be live culture yogurt.
http://nccam.nih.gov/health/probiotics/
http://altmedicine.about.com/cs/herbsvi ... philus.htm

There is a Jarrow PetDophilus (harder to find), there is Culturelle (probably at most drug stores), Fortiflora (orderable online or at vets), and lots of others.
 
I give nomad a quarter of a 25mg Benadryl tablet. That comes out to about six mg. If you use the chidren's 12.5 tablets that would be about half a tablet. You may want to start off with a lower dose. The Benadryl did stop his scratching when he has these episodes. The trade off is drowsiness as a side effect. When he is on the benadryl he eats, uses the litter box and then goes back to sleep.

I give Nomad the pepcid about a half an hour to an hour ahead of the clavamox. When I gave both at the same time he just threw them both up.

I find when Nomad is on the antibiotics it tends to raise his BG about 25 to 50 points. He was down to a quater unit of lantus twice a day and I had to go back up to a half unit a day while he is on the Clavamox. Just as soon as you think everything is under control, the balancing act starts again LOL. :-)
 
DD & Tinkerbell said:
Thanks for the input everyone on the previous thread. The ones on her face look like they might be drying up already. The new one on her throat, not.

Pesid AC - I take it this is the human stuff, Dyana, how much did you give J.D. ? How much do you think I should give Tink? She probably weighs about 10 lbs. Janelle said she gave Nomad a quarter tablet of Pepcid (famotidine) 10mg tablets. No vomiting yet w/Tink either but just in case...

J.D. was put on Clavamox for the 5 days before his dental in April of 2009. These notes are copied from my comments: Gave 1/4 Pepcid AC at PMPS +11.25 (5:45am). J.D. doesn't want to eat breakfast. Mirt ran out? Gave a few kibble of EVO dry, he ate that. Didn't want baby food. Finally ate a little bit of food with tuna water. Keytones - Negative. Gave 1/4 Cyproheptadine and 1 Clavamox at AMPS +.75. Gave a few more kibbles of EVO Dry before walking out the door, he ate that. Left out 1 can of FF (2 cats). Left automatic feeder to give 1/2 can of FF at +4 and 1/2 can of FF at +6. Some leftover food was eaten when I returned home from work. Gave 1/4 Pepcid AC at +11.5 (6:00pm). He ate a pretty good dinner, so far. Gave 1 Clavamox at +1.5 (8:00pm). Fed 1/3 can of FF Medleys at +2.5 (9:00pm) and some steak at +4 (10:30pm).
So, I was giving 1/4 Pepcid AC about 1 hour to 2 hours before the Clavamox. If my memory serves me, I was giving the Pepcid AC because he started getting an upset stomach and throwing up from the Clavamox. It also, after a few days, caused inappentance, so I started using an appetite stimulant (Cyproheptadine and/or? Mirtazapine as both are mentioned in my notes). I also used FortiFlora as a probiotic (my cats LOVE IT!). I use FortiFlora after all antibiotics (and sometimes as an appetite stimulant, too), and sprinkle about 1/4 packet on his food about 2 hours after the antibiotic. I think, if you give the probiotic at the same time as the antibiotic, the antibiotic will just "wipe out/kill" the probiotic you just gave.
After J.D.'s dental, I asked for a different antibiotic, and got Antirobe (Clindamycin) and he didn't have all the problems with upset stomach and diarhea (I can't spell it either). But Clavamox may be the best antibiotic for Tink's situation. Hopefully, she won't have any stomach upsets at all.

I hope all the sores dry up and clear up, quickly. (((((((((Tinkerbell))))))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top