? Tinka's values still high, pls advise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, so Tinka was diagnosed with diabetes 3 weeks ago and began on lantus. We have had to adjust dose over the past 3 weeks. Most recently we increased to 0.75u twice daily a few days ago as we weren't seeing much blue and green for past 11 days at 0.5u twice daily. Previously when we dosed 0.75u twice daily we saw blue and green but now we not seeing any for several days. Any ideas why this could be? Do we need to wait a few more days or when do we need to increase the dose? We are following TR method. I've just re-read the stickies though and realised we should have increased to the 0.75 dose earlier rather than holding the 0.5 for 11 days, but I didn't realise that till now and its been a crazy busy time and dealing with ill health myself. Is there any way she could already have scar tissue in the area we injecting after only 3 weeks and could this be affecting it? Or could there be something wrong with my insulin? My vial does have a few little air bubbles in even though I never injected air into it. Otherwise liquid looks clear, no cloudyness and its only 3 wks old? Or is this normal and we just need to increase her dose? Pls see my updated SS thank you.

Behavour wise she seems to be doing well, more social, eating well, where as 3 weeks ago prior to insulin she lost a lot of weight and was barely eating, hiding etc. She's a little underweight still but picking up quite nicely. Past few days she's been lethargic though and not waking us up for her morining feed like she ususally does. We are transitioning onto a full raw food diet as per new vets advise for her skin issues. She seems to be enjoying the new food. The canned she was eating before had no carbs in it so it shouldn't make much of a difference changing to raw. Its just protein again no veg or fruit ie no carbs. Thanks in advance!

Here's the link to my previous thread from a little while back -
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/162-pmps-247-2-351-4-pls-advise.170450/
 
Last edited:
@Chris & China thought I'd tag you as you have been on the journey with us for most of the past 3 weeks, what are your thoughts? TIA:)
 
Last edited:
The depot can take up to six cycles to catch up to a dose increase. On TR we hold the dose a minimum of six cycles. Patience grasshopper. You are only on cycle 3.
Thanks good to know thank you. I think I waited too long to increase the dose though as she as on 0.5 for 11 days? Only realised that today, hope it doesn't affect things. I'm going to try get some more readings in during her cycle so we have some more data.

So its ok that my insulin has a some little air bubbles in it? How long does it usually take to get scar tissue from shooting in an area? I'm shooting in the scruff for 3 weeks, when do I need to change? Thanks!
 
Hi Tanya.

I never had an issue with scar tissue on my cats, and we shot in the scruff the entire time for both of them - Cinco for almost 5 years. We alternated sides, left in the morning, right at night sort of thing. It's unlikely you're hitting the exact same spot every time, unless you shaved an area and know exactly where you shoot.

Don't worry about not raising the dose when you should have. That happens a lot and it's not a big deal. Now you know more and can be more proactive. If you can post every day, we can help!
 
Hi Tanya.

I never had an issue with scar tissue on my cats, and we shot in the scruff the entire time for both of them - Cinco for almost 5 years. We alternated sides, left in the morning, right at night sort of thing. It's unlikely you're hitting the exact same spot every time, unless you shaved an area and know exactly where you shoot.

Don't worry about not raising the dose when you should have. That happens a lot and it's not a big deal. Now you know more and can be more proactive. If you can post every day, we can help!
Thanks so much Tricia for this info, I'll try do that to alternate shooting more to the left and more to the right. Thank you for your help and encouragement I appreciate it! I'll try post more often for help thank you :)
 
Look at the size of the needle on the syringe.....do you realize how hard it would be to shoot the exact same place every time??

Just do one side in the morning and the other side in the evening and you're good ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top