Tink 6-14 AMPS 351, +4 311, +6 355, +10 307, PMPS 404

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Active Member
WHY so flat??? I was seeing effects from the insulin a few days ago, but now he's staying awful flat. I dosed at .4u today, since I'd be home to monitor mid cycle and we haven't seen ANY blue in awhile. Tink seems like he is starting to feel his higher numbers. He's still playing, eating, purring, etc... but he just looks "off" when his numbers are over 330 or so.

I was hoping the .4 (up from .25, with help from my newly recieved u100 needles) would help... but now I'm wondering if I need to get new insulin. This ProZinc was purchased at the end of October but was barely used. Seemed to be working at first (we just got back on it 11 days ago), but now I'm wondering.

Last time I saw blue was on .5u, but several folks here felt like he was bouncing on that.

Thoughts??
 
Yes, insulin could have lost its effectiveness. The manufacturer says:
How long can a PROZINC vial be used after it is opened?
Although product literature or labels for other insulin products advocate replacing insulin vials every month, there are no special requirements to periodically replace PROZINC once the bottle has been punctured under normal use conditions. PROZINC is a suspension and once mixed has a whitish cloudy appearance. Of course, if discoloration or other abnormal appearances are observed, indicating contamination within the vial, it should be discarded. Loss of insulin activity in the bottle should always be considered whenever clinical symptoms or signs recur, regardless of the amount of insulin in the bottle.4
 
It's hard to tell, Jen. The numbers looked better on less insulin just a week ago but yesterday was certainly high and flat. It could be the insulin is no good or that you need to lower/up the dose. No way to tell unless you change something, so I guess I would up the dose and see if you get any drop. If no, then I think I'd vote on getting new insulin. You could try lowering the dose for a cycle to see if the numbers improve before you try new insulin, just to cover all the bases?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top