Time to lower no-shoot number?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Like many caregivers of newly diagnosed kitties, my no-shoot number has been 200.

Leo's last BG was at +18 and was 110. (His spreadsheet is current if more info is needed). Would this be a good time to reconsider the no-shoot number? I'm home to monitor until Tuesday AM when I have to go back to work. His most recent doses were .25 units.

If it is a good time to lower the number, how low should it be? 150? 175?

Thanks as always.

Kate & Leo
 
As long as you are there to monitor, you certainly can. Anywhere in that 150-170 range is fine - depends on your comfort level. And I would lower the dose, at least at first. Maybe .2 or .1 (such a tiny bit!) See how he does and you can always raise it up a splash. Better too little than too much. We had thought that a cat couldn't hypo on such a tiny dose, but one proved us wrong recently......

So what you are doing is chasing his numbers. Anytime, as long as the number is definitely rising and he is in your target range, you shoot. So you will probably be shooting off schedule - maybe at +15 or +20 even. (it could be closer to +12 but not likely) It is good to feed small frequent meals to help the pancreas during this time.

Little scary, lots of monitoring but usually doesn't last long. You are looking, ultimately, for him to be in the 40-120 range, without insulin, for 2 weeks to be declared OTJ.

Good luck! We'll be here to help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top