putus_human
Member Since 2020
Hello! Tomorrow will be my third day on my current dose (1.25 u) and I'm wondering if I should increase insulin to 1.5 units. I was trying to do SLGS, but she was DKA 10 days ago and is still getting high numbers (pre-shots in the 600's and nadirs in the 300's on a pet meter). So I'm worried about ketones (I am testing her urine, but still, we'd rather not repeat that hospital visit).
Can someone experienced look at my spreadsheet and tell me if I'll have enough data to support that increase by, say, end of tomorrow (11/10/2020)? Or else let me know what BG numbers I need to take and by when to get more data to make a decision?
I'm just nervous after previously trying to increase her dose and getting an unexpected result. My vet is convinced she needs 2 units, but you can see that when I tried to shoot 1.75 units a couple days ago it led to low values 12 hours later. I thought that meant that was too big of a jump. My vet thought that meant maybe my cat only needs once daily injections. That doesn't make any sense to me because she ended up at 600 the next morning with a 1.25 shot. And I know that it's unlikely the duration is that long with the insulin we have now (Vetsulin) and just by looking at her previous BG numbers (but maybe duration is dose-dependent?).
Can someone experienced look at my spreadsheet and tell me if I'll have enough data to support that increase by, say, end of tomorrow (11/10/2020)? Or else let me know what BG numbers I need to take and by when to get more data to make a decision?
I'm just nervous after previously trying to increase her dose and getting an unexpected result. My vet is convinced she needs 2 units, but you can see that when I tried to shoot 1.75 units a couple days ago it led to low values 12 hours later. I thought that meant that was too big of a jump. My vet thought that meant maybe my cat only needs once daily injections. That doesn't make any sense to me because she ended up at 600 the next morning with a 1.25 shot. And I know that it's unlikely the duration is that long with the insulin we have now (Vetsulin) and just by looking at her previous BG numbers (but maybe duration is dose-dependent?).