Time to follow Roomp and Rand's 4th step?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joanngold

Member Since 2014
I have lowered the dose for Big Shot from 1.25u to 1u based on my ss.

I think that puts me onto step 4 of the R&R schedule.

Are the instructions under Step 4 now the appropriate step to follow?

Thank you,

Jo Ann
 
Jo Ann

with all due respect, I'm really not sure what protocol you are following. By step 4, if you mean, "reducing the dose" as described on Tilly's webpage, Big Shot hasn't earned a dose reduction. His numbers, as far as we can see, still appear to be high.

We would love to help you but it's difficult for us to make sound suggestions with no nighttime tests. I hope you will go back and read our responses to your last post.
 
Hi Jo Ann-

Here's the link to the sticky of the Tight Regulation Protocol

Specifically, here's the info about reducing a dose:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.

Big Shot sounds like he's feeling better from being on insulin, but given the information/data you have his BG numbers do not indicate that he is ready for a lower dose.

However, as Marje said, you are missing a lot of information by not having any nighttime tests, and it really is impossible to truly evaluate dose without that information. Without those tests, we don't know if he is dropping dangerously low during the night, or if he's bouncing high during the night, or if he's just staying flat. This information is definitely vital in determining where to go next, and it is important for making sure Big Shot is safe.

We hope you'll stick around, ask questions, and check out the spreadsheets of other cats here so you can see how they are responding and how dose adjustments are being made. We would love to help you help Big Shot, but we do need more information in order to do so.
 
What was the prompting for lowering the dose? It seems like numbers were consistently going up when you reduced the dose. When I look at the protocol, you would likely go back step 2, raising the dose, though I agree than never having a single test after the PMPS test makes it a little more difficult to know whats going on. Its great that he's feeling and acting better! I just don't think you'd want to start pulling the insulin support away while he's still so far from normal numbers.


"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.

excerpt from viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
 
I am referring to the Roomp and Rand's protocol and the numbers beginning on December 1st through December 9th. They say that the goal is to keep the blood glucose concentration between 70 to 220. (These numbers for AlphaTrak are probably off some.) But it looks to me that the spreadsheet correspond to the goals for step 3. The nadars all fall into the recommended range for the dates I mentioned. And so I reduced the dose by .25 u. For that reason I would think that I should move onto Roomp and Rand's step 4 with their own set of instructions. And I'm asking if I am interpreting the protocol in the appropriate way?

We all would rather I be in a position to collect at least an additional night measure. And, I would do so if it were at all possible. I'm not comfortable with explaining why this is not possible. It is an undesirable circumstance I live with.
 
Melanie,

You touch on an area that has been difficult for me to follow. The instructions are very clear and detailed for increasing the dose. But I wish I could find instructions that are similarly detailed for reducing the dose. Perhaps I am missing the instructions.

Jo Ann
 
If you try it, you will find out if it works OK for your cat. Maybe you'll be lucky and it'll work OK. The others raise valid concerns, though.

You'll want to be testing for ketones, monitoring for dehydration, and measuring the food and water intake and elimination. See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some ways to do those and other monitoring ideas.
 
BJM,

Thank you for your suggestion. I will follow your recommendation and continue posting my ss.


Jo Ann
 
Phase 3 states of the R/R TR protocol:
Phase 3: Holding the dose. Aim to keep blood glucose concentration within 80-200 mg/dL (4.5 – 11 mmol/L) throughout the day.

A dose reduction is earned:
If blood glucose is < 80 mg/dL (<4.5 mmol/L)

Big Shot did get to 83 but 83 is not below 80. Of course, with him going so high at AMPS some days, I wouldn't be surprised if he is going low at night.

If you feel safer giving him 1u due to your circumstances, that is definitely something to consider. While those of us actually doing TR would not reduce the dose (if we were using the AT) at 83, your circumstances may dictate that it is the safer way to go.
 
Since you are not able to do any nighttime testing, it will be challenging/virtually impossible to truly follow the protocol. So your goal should be to keep Big Shot in the best numbers possible while not risking him going too low when you're unable to test. This would mean running him a tad higher than that target range set by the protocol, while still keeping him below the renal threshold. As Marje said, the inability to get nighttime tests would certainly be an appropriate reason to lower Big Shot's dose, even though he "technically" has not earned a reduction. Whether or not you are following the protocol, safety has to come first. So if you do find that Big Shot falls under 80 at any point, you absolutely do want to reduce the dose immediately. Since you aren't able to get those nighttime tests, I would aim to keep him a little further away from that 80 in general, in hopes that he won't dive too low during the night.
 
there are others that aren't able to get pm cycle tests in - you don't have to explain your circumstances but it really helps us to know that is your situation. Sometimes people just think if they get day tests in that is good enough and they don't understand that it's common for cats to go lower at night.

I would do 2 things if I were in your shoes. I would make sure that food (low carb canned) is available at night. If he'll graze, that's ideal. But if he's not a grazer, a timed feeder becomes very helpful. Train Big Shot when you are home that food will be coming from the timed feeder. Many but not all cats will eat if their blood sugar goes low. If you can train him to eat from it, then I would set it to open a few times during the night. There is a discussion on timed feeders in the links at the bottom of this post that you might find helpful. That's a little bit of insurance to protect him.

The second thing I would do is to probably let him run a little bit higher, as Amy is suggesting. The Tight Reg Protocol is designed to get a cat into normal numbers and keep them there so that hopefully, their pancreas can heal but if not, their body is still protected from the damage of high blood sugar. An essential component of doing Tight Reg, however, is the testing. It wouldn't be safe to push a cat into lower numbers (just above hypoglycemic numbers) if the testing isn't possible. Those two things go hand-in-hand. That's why everywhere on the yellow starred stickies it says that the guidelines provided there are for those following Tight Regulation.

The FDMB guidelines that are on the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky are very clear. These were written interpretations of the AT page that you are referring to.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
So those following TR wouldn't reduce a dose until the cat went below 50 on a human glucometer or 80 on an alphatrak. But in your circumstance, reducing because you are anticipating low numbers might make some sense.

You're doing a great job of testing during the day, but if the night cycle testing just isn't possible, consider letting him run a little higher instead of trying for remission.
 
I'm to new to offer advice.
Julie,
my understanding that if the #'s are below 50 on the human glucometer their is an earned reduction. On the alpha trak I thought it was 68. Where did the 80 come from?
Paula
 
Paula: it's in the original R/R TR Protocol. The 68 is referenced in the Management of Diabetic Cats pdf linked on the TR Protocol Sticky. You are correct that in that document, it identifies a 68 on an AT as being more "equivalent" to a 50 on a human glucometer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top