Time to bump the dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Member Since 2016
Alot of dosing questions today, must be the weekend :) Was thinking of bumping Cooter up to a .8 to see if his preshot numbers can get better, currently only seeing reds and blacks :( Any reasons not to do it, or a different dose suggestion? His mid cycle numbers are staying in the yellows and almost mid blues. Just can't figure why the PS numbers are up. If I switch him tonight I can monitor tonight, and his AM tomorrow really well to get an idea of what it will do.

Thanks as always!! :cat:
 
I found with Fritz that as soon as I stopped feeding him any wet canned food his #'s came down. It makes me wonder if even giving some carbs and if they are carb sensitive keeps the #'s higher.
I feed him raw homemade food.
He loves the rabbit best. I buy it prepackaged from wholefoods 4 pets in Washington. Just wondering if more kitties might respond better?
I dont know if its ok to not give him any carbs long term. Maybe he gets some carbs in the slurry I add to the raw. I'd appreciate any comments.
 
There are two possibilities, Sarah, and unfortunately no way to know which is happening.

He definitely gets a big drop from preshot to nadir and it could certainly be causing him to bounce at preshot. The only way to deal with this is to wait it out and see if his body gets used to the lower numbers and stops releasing its own sugars, lowering that preshot number. The only way I know to lessen the drop is to offer him small snacks around +4/5 and see if he flattens out.

The other possibility is that the insulin works to being him down but it is wearing out by preshot. The pmps you got on 5/10 suggests that. You gave a little more that cycle and he had a lower preshot number.

No way to know which it is for sure. But since it is the weekend and you can monitor, maybe try increasing and see if his preshot looks better without dropping his nadir too low. Maybe 0.8 or even one unit? Be prepared with regular food and gravy off higher carb foods just in case he dips low. If you'd get a yellow preshot and can monitor, try not to skip. If under 200, stall without feeding. Test in 20 minutes to make sure he is rising, not falling and if he is close to 200, then shoot a reduced dose, but shoot.

What do you think?
 
Sounds good Sue! I've got just about every percentage of carbs to give him if he drops, some low LC, higher LC, medium (11-15%) and high (18-23%), I've learned my lesson on that front! Now if I could just learn to not overreact and steer him to fast and too far lol. He may throw a yellow PMPS today, just checked him at +10 and he was 160, 36pts lower then at +6.5, but close enough to it he might just be surfin along....Guess I'll see what his number is and decide what to do with the dose then :)
 
Nevermind, stuck with the .6 since he threw me a yellow number tonight... I swear he knows when I'm thinking of stuff and tries to confuse me. worst part is he's usually successful at doing it! Will see what tommorow holds and maybe try a little more in the AM, that seems to be his higher preshot out of the 2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top