Time to adjust Mookie's dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
Hi, everyone,

Would you take a look at Mookie's spreadsheet and tell me if his dose should be tweaked? Or should I wait until he's gone a few cycles on the canned/no kibble diet? This is his third day off kibble; he's on all canned food now.

He's ravenous today. Between 6am and 1:30pm he ate nearly three 3oz cans of FF. I gave him Kitten Turkey Formula (31,61,3) at his last two feedings for the extra calories.

Thanks -- I wish you all a great, stress-free weekend!
 
Re: 12/9 AMPS 269; time to adjust Mookie's dose?

mookiesmom said:
Hi, everyone,

Would you take a look at Mookie's spreadsheet and tell me if his dose should be tweaked? Or should I wait until he's gone a few cycles on the canned/no kibble diet? This is his third day off kibble; he's on all canned food now.

He's ravenous today. Between 6am and 1:30pm he ate nearly three 3oz cans of FF. I gave him Kitten Turkey Formula (31,61,3) at his last two feedings for the extra calories.

Thanks -- I wish you all a great, stress-free weekend!

I looked at his ss and was thinking that maybe you should leave any changes until you are done moving his dose time backwards. When you shoot early, it's like an increase of dose, so maybe waiting till you have reached 8am or whatever time you like before thinking about a dose change.

It's great he's on all wet canned food now. There are a few things you can do with foods to stretch it out and that's to add lots of water, soup up the food, as the water is great for his body and the water will fill him up more. it could be that he's eating more and it's affecting his numbers.
At the start, the body's not capable of extracting what it needs from foods but you should see appetite drop off as he becomes close to regulated.

Once you are not adjust shot time and no more food changes are happening, maybe watch the numbers for a couple days and then think about changes. My two were eating around 30oz and 24oz before regulated so I know what the appetite is like!
 
Re: 12/9 AMPS 269; time to adjust Mookie's dose?

If you stayed with the dose, I'll be interested in todays numbers. If he drops lower, I'd be tempted to back off *only a smidge*. You are getting nice long curves that are to be envied. I'm with Gayle that it might be prudent to wait until you are in the shot pattern you want but it is *possible* that if the bgs keep dropping you might want to back off just like .25u if you can do that. I wouldn't want to back off too much and lose that nice blue!
 
Good morning!

Mookie and I had a testing marathon last night. It was one of those rare nights when my insomnia turned out to be useful. This morning his ears are sore, and I'm ~O)

Thanks, Gayle, for your suggestion to add water to his food. I did that last night and he liked it, as long as it's warmed. His appetite is almost alarming it's so huge. But 30oz a day? Good grief!

Karen, by dropping lower do you mean into the greens? I'll post new numbers later today.

I'll follow the advice both of you gave and wait until I've finished changing his shot schedule. One of the reasons I want to start earlier in the day is that no one is on the board with me in the middle of the night when I'm still awake. :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top