time sensitive question, need answer asap :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa6

Member Since 2011
Finally! Stella's blood sugar is lower. She is at 170 this morning. I tested before giving the insulin. So now what? Her levels have been between 350 and 450 for 2.5 weeks on 2u of lantus. I increased to 2.5u and a full 48 hours (last night) she was at 250 and now she is at the 170.

The big question: Do I give insulin or not?

If not, do I just wait until this evening to give it with a test midday?

I am sorry for all the questions and I really appreciate the help!
 
How long do you have? Don't feed, take another test in 20 minutes. I will try to get some Lantus help. You might also add Lantus to your subject line.
 
Hi Theresa .. don't think we've been in your condo before .. Are you going to be home today, and would you be able to monitor if you did the insulin? Do you have test strips, high carb food and karo syrup if needed?

I don't see any spreadsheet for your kitty .. are you doing spot checks?
 
Here's the link to the sticky in the Lantus ISG about what to do when you get a lower than usual preshot.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Basically you can give a reduced dose or stall and test again every half hour until you get a higher BG. It is not advisable to skip the shot completely.

If you give the shot, you should test every hour over the next few to see how it affects her BG. Because you have trouble testing, I hope you can do that.
 
It looks to me like the new dose is having the desired effect. If you are able to get a couple of checks in, and monitor if you see a too low number, I'd hold the dose.
 
thank you everyone. I tested again 45 minutes later and she had shot up to 240 so I went ahead and gave her insulin.

I am actually getting a little better with the home testing, its the rice sock! it makes all the difference :)


I have a new question. My cat takes meds for hyperthyroid. I usually give them at the same time as her insulin, except the last couple of times I staggered them and both times I got lower bg numbers. I gave it maybe 10 minutes after this mornings test and her bg rose substantially within half hour. Is it a coincidence? Or does the methimazole do something to prevent either absorption of the insulin or something to keep the blood sugar high?
 
I'm glad you got the shot in today, remember that her next shot will be 12 hours from when you actually shot.

I don't have an answer on the hyper T meds. You may want to put that in you first subject to get better response. Go back to your first post and change the subject line. That is how it will show up in the list.
 
was that before, during, or after feeding?

The methimazole slows the thyroid hormone production down, which should reduce appetite, heart rate, blood pressure, basically overall metabolism. Not sure how fast onset is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top