TIME FOR DOSECREASE? 3.20.15 Zoey amps 556 // +3 322 // +5 297 // +7 429 // +9 471

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Active Member
Happy Friday!

I've been doing some reading on the threads this morning; something I've not had time to do much of lately. There was a post somewhere about the FDMB not really liking fish. I feed Zoey mostly fish products: Friskie's Special Diet Whitefish and tuna as her treat after tests. And then I read on somebody's post that fish makes their cat's BG numbers high. So I changed her food back to the Friskie's Special Diet Turkey this morning.

I really don't know how much food Zoey should be getting in a day. Before the dx, she was always a free eating dry food cat. She weighs 10.5 pounds and I've been feeding her two cans a day. Reading through some of the posts and looking at some of the ss, I'm thinking that's too much. She definitely could lose some weight so I'm going to try feeding her just twice a day, 1/2 can each serving. I will supplement during the day with chicken as needed.

I did feed her 1/2 c last night at bedtime and she did not pester me during the night for more food like she's been doing with just the 1/4 feedings. I don't know if it's a psychological thing, her cleaning her plate and worrying about more food or what; but last night and this morning, she will eat 95% of the 1/2c and leave a portion behind. (Am I supposed to pick the leftovers up or leave them down? I'm leaving them down to nibble on whenever) She's calm and grooming herself and acting satisfied. We'll see how long it carries us through the day today. I am up for any suggestions whatsoever on tweeking her feed or whatever else comes to mind.

She's sneezing, more in fits here and there than anything regular. I'm assuming this is due to the pollen that is falling from the trees like snow. It has most all of us sneezing. Is there anything OTC I can give her for that? She's not distressed or anything, just notice a little drainage around the nose and I hate to take her to the vet and start the whole issue with the insulin protocol all over again ... especially with her BG all over the place. Lord knows I have enough voices in my head questioning my every decision without adding his to the mix. :blackeye:

Here's yesterday's post.

Happy vines to you all.
 
I used to feed twice a day, and then after doing some reading learned that the smaller meals might be better as it doesn't overwhelm the pancreas. One thing I started to do, after being suggested here, which has really helped with Skooter's preshot numbers is to give him a little snack at +9....it helps to kind of jumpstart his pancreas for those last few hours, which helps bring his numbers down some.

As for leaving it out, that should be fine, as long as you pick it up about 2 hours before the next preshot as you don't want any food to influence the numbers at shot time.

Sorry I don't have any suggestions for the allergy stuff :(
 
Thank you Molly. I believe I will give her a bit at the +9 and see what happens.

I'm not understanding any of these numbers and their rollercoaster ride is making me sick to look at it. Why is she staying so high? Is there something wrong and I'm missing it?
 
She's been on the 2.75 for 3 cycles and she's gotten into the yellow once. Should I up her dose at the next shot to 3.0? (5:30 eastern) If I don't hear from anyone, I'll keep it the same.
 
Thought I'd check in to see if I should raise it but it appears our shot is too early to catch anyone for their opinion/assurances prior to time. My thoughts are that it should be raised because it's been 3 consecutive shots and she's not dipped any lower than the upper 200s. But I don't feel comfortable making that call in fear I might be rushing. I don't want to rush but also don't want to prolong those lower numbers so her body has a chance to mend.

I'm curious about the the lower pmps number from the +9 bg. Is this common? Could this be along the lines of what I read when they're hungry their bodies produce extra glucose to compensate? Maybe it's the same thing that Molly was talking about with the pancreas being jump started? I'm really trying to learn about this stuff. I read everything I can read but there's so much, it takes a while to digest it all. I'm sorry for all of the questions.
 
You wait a minimum of six days on each dose before doing an increase. This is where a nice pair of patience pants comes in handy.:)

As for the +9 snack, that works for Skooter because he is on such a small dose. For kitties on a larger dose, feeding after mid cycle or the low point when the insulin is slowing down can be counter productive and cause the preshots to go up. Feeding multiple meals in the first half of the cycle can be helpful and easier on the healing pancreas.
 
Thanks Wendy. Six days or six cycles/3 days? There was a minimum and I think it must have been 4 cycles, not 3, if the numbers stay in the 300s. After a while, the information starts just running together though so that's why I ask until it becomes rock solid. The preshot didn't go up after that +9, it went down almost 30 points from the previous reading a few hours earlier and that was taken right before I fed her. That's what has me curious. It makes sense for them to go up and was expected, but it didn't do that. ??

I'm taking it all in, learning to watch the chart and see how Zoey reacts to all of this herself, but there's so many "whys" that I feel like an annoying two-year-old with my curiosity. Each day I fully expect Zoey's numbers to go lower and each day it is a disappointment and I feel like if I only had a little bit more time to read a few more sites each day that I might, just might find the right combination that will help her.

Our next course of action will be to clean her teeth and see if that's not something that might be causing this. She shows no signs of dental problems but who knows. I've had vets tell me everything was okay before and turns out that three teeth needed pulling (different furbaby). We'll explore that avenue soon and if nothing else, I'll rest well knowing that stone has been turned over.

Same dose in the a.m.!

Sweet dream vines to everyone. :)
 
With yellow nadirs, it's up after 6 cycles or 3 days.

It's a good idea to get teeth checked out. So much can happen under the gum line that you can't see by the naked eye. Neko went for a dental in January, to get some gum work done (due to her acromegaly). The dental vet always does X-rays, and found a tooth that was completely gone below the gum line and a cavity down to the jaw bone. Completely invisible with visual inspection.
 
Thanks for the clarification, Wendy. Poor Neko! I bet she was ever so happy to get rid of that bad tooth! The x-rays are exactly what caught my Rocky boy's bad teeth that visual exams had missed. He had awful breath though so it was a sign that something more was going on than what the visual was showing. Zoey doesn't have nappy breath, but it won't hurt to rule bad teeth out as a contributing factor to her resistant numbers.

Zoey's numbers are much better today. It's the reds and blacks that make me take my patience pants off and go all commando. They scare me and I'm a fighter when I get scared. I just want to FIX it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top