Hi!,
When I read earlier that you had just started TR today, wasn't sure what you meant exactly, but now I understand.
We have seen the DCC scale before, which I believe is like the original Hodgkins scale from YDC, but "toned" down with regard to dose?
I used PZI for about 10 weeks on Bob. During that time, he was "shot to scale" for part of the 10 weeks. It was a much simpler scale, but it was based just on preshot numbers and didn't consider "nadir" into the equation. Bob is not on insulin any more (knock on wood), and I didn't really become familiar with the standard PZI/Prozinc protocol used on FDMB until he was off of insulin.
From what I have seen in the past 6 months, the FDMB protocol works well. It is based upon a "start low, go slow" approach where the normal starting dose is 1u BID. Tests are taken before every shot, and usually at mid-cycle times as well. Most importantly, around the +6 point, or "nadir". The "low point" of the day in terms of BG levels. The combination of the PS reading and the nadir reading determine dose. Seeing what 1u will do to a given pre-shot, sticking with that dose for several days, collecting data, and then looking at the spreadsheet to find "patterns". At a point where some improvement and/or consistency is observed, then dosing changes are recommended based on the data and the group consensus (peer review).
That's what we normally do. Of course, and decision is always "yours" in the end. All we can do is look, analyze, and advise when asked.
The difficulty with a scale, whether YDC, DCC, or one developed by one of us, is that it needs to be tailored to a specific cat. More than any other thing I have learned here is that Every Cat Is Different. Every daily routine for every cat is different. Every meal schedule, "bean" schedule, every "other" thing that might be going on inside kitty besides "just diabetes". . . it's all different. Sort of makes it impossible to use "pre-packaged" treatment routines. A scale like you are using CAN work for Tilly. It just needs to be modified to fit her specifically.
And the only way to do that, really, is to collect data while keeping as many of the dozens of variables "constant" for some period of time.
That's why we recommend sticking with one dose, keeping it the same AM and PM, and testing at shot time and "in the middle", so that it can be observed that Tilly responds to a "given", whether that is insulin, food, schedule, other meds, whatever. Once you have collected enough data, then you could adjust dose according to that data.
Starting out with a scale will most likely prove frustrating to you because you may be reacting to a "bounce" like today for instance, that is just a "normal" response by her body reacting to what her BG level was during her cycle. Her BG drops "too low", and her body reacts by dumping glucose from the liver into her bloodstream to "save her" from going too low. "Shoot the bounce" as we refer to it, and you can set off a chain reaction where the numbers go low, she pushes them up herself with her liver panic, you shoot more to get it down, and the cycle keeps repeating. Meanwhile, she swings from high to low to high all day, and feels like she's "bi-polar".
Looking at Tilly's SS, it looks to me like the past two mornings the PS was low because the dose she got the night before may have been too much, and she had longer duration as well. Yesterday it caused her numbers to "bounce" and she was higher all day than she started at in the morning. Today, same deal, except she did go from high to low to high again from +2 to PMPS. The scale said to shoot 2u on a PMPS of 370, which you did. That may cause her to go low overnight, maybe not "too low", but no way of knowing that. But the "low" doesn't need to be a "hypo" low in order to cause a "bounce". It just needs to be low enough to set off liver panic and the dumping of glucose by the liver to cause another "bounce".
At this point, what you probably should do is get some more tests in to see how she is doing in 2, 4 or 6 hours (which I know is not fun since it's night time now for you). It will be interesting to see what the 2.0 units does, but it will possibly make her bounce and show you a higher number in the AM.
That's my take, anyway!
Carl