Brad and Chowder
Member Since 2016
Hi everyone, my cat Chowder has been tightly regulated with twice-daily Lantus for a bit under two months now; I do not have a spreadsheet with his glucose levels, but I can say that his numbers on a human meter (the ReliOn Micro) most often range from 60 to about 140, with a very occasional mid 50 or so (but never lower) at his nadir. His pre-shot levels are often in the low 100s, sometimes slightly lower, and his dose is usually .75 units of Lantus. Even when he was unregulated, with levels above 200 and even 300, I always feared hypoglycemia way more than I think was appropriate at the time, and even now, I believe I allow it to interfere with my sleep. So, a couple of questions:
1.) At night, I often give Chowder a shot around 8:30 PM, because I want to be around for several hours. Lately, I've done his final blood check at midnight or even 12:30 AM, when it is often somewhere in the 80s or 90s. I then go to bed, but the worry of him getting too low has kept me up later in the night...given that he always eats before I go to bed, and that I leave plenty of food out, am I worrying too much overnight?
2.) Is severe hypoglycemia only possible if both a cat's blood sugar level is extremely low AND they haven't eaten? In other words, if Chowder eats his wet food every two or three hours on his own, is he basically protected against hypoglycemia? Not that his numbers ever get below 50, as I mentioned, but I'm curious if the fact that he eats so regularly means I have less reason to worry.
Thanks so much for any input!
1.) At night, I often give Chowder a shot around 8:30 PM, because I want to be around for several hours. Lately, I've done his final blood check at midnight or even 12:30 AM, when it is often somewhere in the 80s or 90s. I then go to bed, but the worry of him getting too low has kept me up later in the night...given that he always eats before I go to bed, and that I leave plenty of food out, am I worrying too much overnight?
2.) Is severe hypoglycemia only possible if both a cat's blood sugar level is extremely low AND they haven't eaten? In other words, if Chowder eats his wet food every two or three hours on his own, is he basically protected against hypoglycemia? Not that his numbers ever get below 50, as I mentioned, but I'm curious if the fact that he eats so regularly means I have less reason to worry.
Thanks so much for any input!