Tigger is doing ok..I think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarolandTigger

Member Since 2015
I think Tigger is doing well, and has adjusted to being on Lantus! His numbers are SO much better than before on Vetsulin! I just fed him his dinner at 5:30..but he's not due for his PM shot till 8:45. I did test just now..which would be +8...and he's at 54. Which is telling me this could be his nadir, right? Since Midcycle for Lantus is about +6-/+8, correct? I'll test hourly between now and shot time just to see where he goes...good idea? This morning at 7am(+10) he was 91, but then 223 @ +12 ,enough to shoot. Any thoughts?
 
I see you went back up to 2.5

After he was in the 30's the other morning, he had earned a reduction down to 2.25 so he should have still been at that dose, so I'd make sure to keep a close eye on him tonight

When he got down that low, he "bounced" .....that's what the higher numbers were.....You have to ignore those higher numbers when there's a good reason for them (like a bounce) and not increase the dose

Bounces can take up to 3 days (6 cycles) to "clear"
 
Now that you've got your signature and spreadsheet set up, you may want to post in the Lantus forum, where there are numerous Lantus users with lots of experience.
Take a look at the sticky posts at the top which will explain how to optimize your use of Lantus, how to store it and handle it, and 2 different methods for using it - Tight Regulation and Start Low, Go Slow.
 
Ok, I just tested him at +12 at his PMPS..and he's 403!! So this is a bounce from the 54 I got at +8? Because I didn't keep him at his reduced dose of 2.25u? I'm so confused! Just when I think I have a handle on this, I get a surprise.
I'm feeding him now and then will shoot in about 20 min. So I go back to the reduced dose or shoot this high of 403 with his regular 2.5??
 
Yes, this is probably a bounce from the 54 today.....his liver thought that was too low and released stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up fast (Mr. Liver isn't too good about that....he tends to overshoot it by quite a bit....lol)

You'd want to hold the 2.5 dose

I really invite you to come over to the Lantus forum to start posting tomorrow....you'll get the benefit of lots of people who have lots of experience with Lantus there.

Each day we start a new post with the date/cats name and AMPS number....then as the day goes on, if you get more tests in, you "edit" that subject line and add those test results in....so like for you, today would look like this:

3/4 Tigger AMPS 223,+8 54,PMPS 403

In the body of the post, first put the link to the prior day's post in so it's easy for people to quickly go back and read what's been going on and then just let us know how Tigger is doing overall, as well as ask any questions you may have
 
Carol...if you haven't already shot, Wendy was right...I have been trying to follow too many cats tonight

He earned the reduction to 2.25 but then you increased him back to 2.5 due to the high "bounce" numbers....he should stay at 2.25
 
I'm now posting on the Lantus board, so I saw all of your posts. Whew! Well, I did give him the 2.5..hadn't seen this yet. But it's ok. I'm learning more each day!! Thanks so much!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top