Tiger is getting a Reset..NO scratch that he isn't!!! NOW WHAT??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd stay with the 5.25U dose for Tiger, until his BG levels tell us otherwise.

He was one really sick kitty when you first started dosing him, and you had to increase the Prozinc dose FAST to try and get him out of those over 500 Black numbers. Then the Prozinc didn't seem to be doing anything for him and you switched to Vetsulin. Vetsulin didn't last long enough, too short of a duration, so it's back to Prozinc now. Where you were starting to get some good results with the 5.25U dose.

Whoever told you to "reset" the dose was giving you some really "bad advice" in my personal opinion.

Jacque,
We don't allow dosing advice via PM or private conversations on this message board. It's too one sided and does not keep the other people helping you in the loop.

Any person or group that is honest and above board, will be public in what they say, not keeping things hidden. They will be willing to share their train of thought with you and others. They will be publicly posting their response, in whatever group it was where you received the response.

Who is the supposed "Prozinc expert" that Amy Sikes of DCIN talked to? What protocol are they using? What information are they using to base the idea that Tiger was overdosed? Please link us to the post from the group.

I've seen one. One clear case where I thought a cat was overdosed and suggested the caregiver lower the dose. Recent member, NatashaL. And I absolutely did not suggest that she reset the dose to 0.5U, but decrease by small amounts, and get some more mid-cycle testing and get our standardized color coded SS setup. She did, and look at the results. Her two threads are linked here, for you to review. She is using Prozinc, by the way, for her cat Ron.
Need advice about high numbers and Need advice on falling numbers

If Wendy&Neko or Sienne and Gabby (GA) or Marje and Gracie or Bron and Sheba (GA) or Chris & China (GA) had told you they thought Tiger was being overdosed, I would have believed one of them. This other person, we might know, we might not. But how much experience they have with Prozinc, is what we don't know.

Heck, I don't have much experience with Prozinc and neither does Chris. But you see us pouring out our thoughts to you on what is going on with Tiger constantly. If you don't trust us anymore, please let us know. Please let us know how we can regain that trust. :(

Note: this is not to be taken as go to advice to use for the case of the OP but I wanted to expand on my experience with Prozinc and my cat. In the beginning, our vet had us on 1 unit twice a day and we could not get my baby under control, with numbers in 500s. Months later, we were up to 8 units TWICE a day. It was too much and not moving his BG numbers much lower than 300. I researched for days, and came to the conclusion to back down to 2 units twice a day (it was a slow process, decreasing slowly). He flourished in 3 months and became beautifully regulated. Turns out, my vet was giving us bad advice in the beginning and was having us increase by 1 unit every two weeks when we should have been increasing by 0.25. It perhaps led to a symogi effect. Also, there was no talk about maybe switching insulin. To complicate the situation, Rocko had issues with infections with teeth that needed to be pulled. My takeaway from it all - try to find out that no other infections are running rampant in kitty's body, and when BG numbers aren't responding, increase Prozinc doses by a quarter of a unit at a time. 3 years personal experience with Prozinc and other health issues affecting progress. But Rocko's journey ended yesterday with complications of other health issues. Best of luck.
 
I'm sorry to hear that Rocko's journey came to an end.

The symogyi effect has been dis-proven, or at least never been able to be repeated by any other researcher since the original work came out in the 1930's. One of those myths that has been "debunked."
Chronic Somogyi rebound - Wikipedia
Jacque's Tiger has multiple health issues, and she is getting those treated. She also has another diabetic cat, so this is not her first time treating a diabetic cat.

Increases were very fast at the beginning for Tiger, since his readings were all in the >500 range. Being too high like that can be as dangerous or even more dangerous than being too low. At least with the low BG readings, you can give food and a simple sugar to bring the BG numbers back to a safe level. Not much you can do to bring those HI (too high for most meters to register the actual number) back down to a better level.
 
I'm sorry to hear that Rocko's journey came to an end.

The symogyi effect has been dis-proven, or at least never been able to be repeated by any other researcher since the original work came out in the 1930's. One of those myths that has been "debunked."
Chronic Somogyi rebound - Wikipedia
Jacque's Tiger has multiple health issues, and she is getting those treated. She also has another diabetic cat, so this is not her first time treating a diabetic cat.

Increases were very fast at the beginning for Tiger, since his readings were all in the >500 range. Being too high like that can be as dangerous or even more dangerous than being too low. At least with the low BG readings, you can give food and a simple sugar to bring the BG numbers back to a safe level. Not much you can do to bring those HI (too high for most meters to register the actual number) back down to a better level.

Thank you so much for that information. If I ever need to treat another kitty for DB, I know I'll be better informed. I wish more vets in our area kept up with evolving education when it comes to DB.

Best of luck to Tiger!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top