JoeAndTiger
Member Since 2020
Hello,
Over the past two months, we've had a hard time regulating Tiger's blood glucose. He normally receives 1 unit of lantus twice a day. The normal diet is fancy feast pate (Fish, Chicken). Per the vet's rec, we currently have a Libre Freestyle installed and unfortunately, it has led to some paranoia so we scan him often.
On Friday afternoon at around 2PM we scanned him and received a LO reading (below 40), he was showing no signs of low BG. We quickly administered some Karo syrup and some low carb hard food and by 6pm we had his BG around 200. After consulting with our vet a few hours later, we were advised to skip the PM dose. Yesterday he was high (320-375) due to the skipped dose on Friday night.
Today, it is a similar story. We scanned him often and saw a declining score so we administered karo syrup and low carb hard food. He is responding normally and littered normally. We verified the Freestyle score with an AlphaTrax 2 score and they were within 5 of each other.
6:21am - 239
7:34am - 256
8:00am - [AM Injection - 1unit]
8:49am - 245
10:00am - 173
12:08pm - 72
12:13pm - 89
12:48pm - 46 (Gave 1/3 cup of low carb hard food)
12:53pm - 48
12:57pm - 45
1:02pm - 45
1:08pm - 44
1:11pm - 47
1:17pm - 51
1:28pm - 50
1:47pm - LO (Below 40)
1:50pm - LO (Below 40) [Gave 1ml karo syrup & 1ml water mix]
1:52pm - 47
1:59pm - 43
2:05pm - 47
2:10pm - 53 [Gave 1ml karo syrup & 1ml water mix]
2:14pm - 57
2:19pm - 74
---EDITS BELOW---
2:25pm - 85
2:27pm - 102
2:37pm - 142
2:47pm - 174
Obviously we need some high carb soft food so he can metabolize that more quickly. Any other suggestions since it may be difficult to feed him with a full stomach?
Over the past two months, we've had a hard time regulating Tiger's blood glucose. He normally receives 1 unit of lantus twice a day. The normal diet is fancy feast pate (Fish, Chicken). Per the vet's rec, we currently have a Libre Freestyle installed and unfortunately, it has led to some paranoia so we scan him often.
On Friday afternoon at around 2PM we scanned him and received a LO reading (below 40), he was showing no signs of low BG. We quickly administered some Karo syrup and some low carb hard food and by 6pm we had his BG around 200. After consulting with our vet a few hours later, we were advised to skip the PM dose. Yesterday he was high (320-375) due to the skipped dose on Friday night.
Today, it is a similar story. We scanned him often and saw a declining score so we administered karo syrup and low carb hard food. He is responding normally and littered normally. We verified the Freestyle score with an AlphaTrax 2 score and they were within 5 of each other.
6:21am - 239
7:34am - 256
8:00am - [AM Injection - 1unit]
8:49am - 245
10:00am - 173
12:08pm - 72
12:13pm - 89
12:48pm - 46 (Gave 1/3 cup of low carb hard food)
12:53pm - 48
12:57pm - 45
1:02pm - 45
1:08pm - 44
1:11pm - 47
1:17pm - 51
1:28pm - 50
1:47pm - LO (Below 40)
1:50pm - LO (Below 40) [Gave 1ml karo syrup & 1ml water mix]
1:52pm - 47
1:59pm - 43
2:05pm - 47
2:10pm - 53 [Gave 1ml karo syrup & 1ml water mix]
2:14pm - 57
2:19pm - 74
---EDITS BELOW---
2:25pm - 85
2:27pm - 102
2:37pm - 142
2:47pm - 174
Obviously we need some high carb soft food so he can metabolize that more quickly. Any other suggestions since it may be difficult to feed him with a full stomach?
Last edited:

