? Tiger 12/14 AMPS 228 +3 136 +5 91

J9 Pearson

Member Since 2024
I read Tiger's pattern in the past as: when he is high in the morning his high is likely a rebound from a low I missed in the late evening/early morning hours. I think the spreadsheet shows this pattern the last 3 of 4 days. Given his acromegaly, the pattern I see and increased lethargy the past couple days, I am considering dropping to .01 units (I am finding it really difficulty trying to pull these tiny amounts! I'm using the fine dosing pictures and hope I'm accurate. I think I need some stronger reading glasses for this!) Looking for thoughts/advice on staying at .25 vs. dropping to .01.

OTJ Trial - 12/4 Tiger AMPS 172
@Wendy&Neko
 
I don't think a reduction in dose would be a good idea. He's still got some yellow numbers in there. And it looks like he nadirs in the first half of the cycle, so I don't think you are missing any lows. What times are you feeding him?
 
I doubt that would account for it given the negligible amounts in his food combined with my observations that he grazes pretty evenly throughout the day and night. He actually seems to eat the most in the AM just after his insulin. He seems flat post PM insulin and has an AM spike which I don’t believe is food related since it’s consistently in the AM and he free feeds. I’m wondering if anyone is aware of any reasons this could be?

Right now my game plan is to sit at .25 and reduce to 0.1 if I see any one of the following:

2 separate nadirs of under 90 (strict)
1 nadir under 80
Any number under 70

After speaking with a vet friend of mine today it sounds like acromegaly can have steep drops but if and when they hit this stage (Stage 4) it can be the longest stage prior to an OTJ trial. Hearing this helps me not be as worried that he will have steep drops like he has in the past with his current dose. We came with the game plan above.

Fingers crossed he can get there eventually. I was assuming if remission happens it would be imminent but there seems to be still a ways to go.
 
Neko got down to about 0.75 units, and stayed there for about 3 months. Then she started going up again in dose. She eventually got radiation a second time (uncommon) and got down to about 0.25 units. Never did quite make it OTJ. But her QOL was way better in those smaller units of insulin.
 
Back
Top