tiffy - I think needs a .25 hike on sliding scale

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresatramondo

Member Since 2013
please look at her updated ss. I gave the alpha and micro and used colors in conjunction with the alpha until I feel comfortable. i'd like to clarify things with deb over the phone, so waiting to hear from her.
I personally feel tiffy needs an adjustment on the scale I am using. beejay started me with the scale.
 
Two points regarding sliding scales...

1). Don't make adjustments to the entire scale at the same time. You can adjust the ranges that you have seen do not work well, but don't assume the whole scale is wrong. Before adjusting, you need to see a specific dose is "failing".

2) To effectively use a sliding scale, you need nadir tests. The only way to really know if a dose is good is to calculate the difference between preshot and nadir.

If you see a 350 at AMPS, and a 425 at PMPS, it's easy to feel that the dose didn't work well.
A nadir in that cycle of 275 would add weight to that thought. But a nadir of 100 that resulted in a bounce to 425 tells you where the 425 came from. That knowledge says the dose is good, or maybe too high.

You need to know what the cause of the higher numbers is before you can figure out how to "fix them".

Another good thing to keep in mind....

Never base a dose decision on just one cycle of data. The exception to that, in my opinion, is if you see a number like a 40. You see a 40, you likely need a reduction in dose. Look for failures to repeat themselves before concluding they really are failures.

I do agree that based just on this morning's AMPS and nadir, that this dose seemed like it could use an increase.
But, you need to decide which AMPS is "right". If you use the AT data, it worked OK, but there was room for him to go lower at nadir. If you use the Relion data, this dose did very little. But you can't assume both ranges in the scale aren't working. You have to pick one. In order to do that, you have to choose one meter or the other. Your scale needs to be based on one meter only.

And I would not assume the Alpha is "right", ever. Just because it's pet specific and costs big bucks doesn't make it more accurate. It still can be off by +/-20% just like a human meter can.
 
Theresa, you said this for Alphatrak:

Alphatrak
>150 - 1.5 only if home to monitor, stalled 30 minutes to make sure rising,& she is not ill
>250 - 2.25
>350 - 2.75
>450 - 3.
>550 - 3.50

How does this look for use with the Micro?
Micro
> 125 - 1.5U only if home to monitor, stalled 30 minutes to make sure rising,& she is not ill
> 175 - 2.25U
> 250 - 2.75U
> 325 - 3U
> 400 - 3.5U

This is going to take some mental adjustment when you switch totally to the Micro.
 
Theresa,
For the AT, that scale looks good. It only raise doses on the lowest preshot ranges.

As far as the Micro goes, there are only three days worth of numbers to evaluate. And like you said, the difference between the meter readings is not consistent. I don't think you can make a safe assumption on the Relion scale based on the data so far. You can't go back more than 3 days and try to guess what the numbers might have been with a different meter.

Also, are the comparisons being made using the same drop of blood?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top