Tiffy - 07/16/13 amps 305 - 2.75, +4.5 - 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresatramondo

Member Since 2013
Hi, so I am not going to panic with the 92 because on the alpha it would be approx. 162 or so and even if it is only 130, I just gave her a treat, huge treat, so that will bring her up, freezed dried chix. I know it won't spike her, but it gives her leverage. so she is acting weirdo at that number, but to be expected, huge difference, and what an achievement. I really again have to say I lOVE YOU GUYS! AND TIFFY LOVES YOU TOO! I CAN ONLY HOPE THAT ALL IS BETTER ON THE OTHER MEDICAL ISSUES, which something dawned on me while I was speaking with Deb, when I thought Tiffy was vomiting, she wasn't. she was coughing so hard that she regurgitated foam up. so the bronchitis is the issue, and hopefully she will get better. she only did that about 3x's and I just realized it because it happened yesterday morning. so acute bronchitis, and that may be why there is the panting occurring. poor thing can't breath well. so thankful for the X rays. I only wish he did it the prev time I was there. Why? I don't know. you think you can cure an uri, but poor tiffy was so debilitated, but coming around. :-D
 
Are you home today? To get another test around +5.5 +6

That 92 is a nice pancreas healing number. And your first green number! :mrgreen:
 
From your e-mail to me (off-board advising is prohibited)
Theresatramondo said:
...Do you think I should overlap that insulin being that she rises fast?
Just wait it out. Better too high for a day, then too low for a moment.

Theresatramondo said:
...She is still panting away. I called vet and calling him again. It probably is the bronchitis. She did up some foam and I read that is straining and coughing.
This could be asthma or pneumonia, which can kill. I think I'd get her in asap and discuss that with the vet. She needs to breathe. A bronchodilator med might help her even if it is infection, so discuss with vet.

If she has developed pneumonia - fluid filling part of the lungs - she might need hospitalization; has a chest x-ray been done? It will help rule in OR out asthma, pneumonia, and some heart problems.

Theresatramondo said:
...Do you think if I flash some vic past her nose, it will harm her? I am thinking it will open things up. she is congested still. she is on xenoquin for 14 days and he said she may be on it for 3 cycles. I skirted saline nose spray up her nose, very hard task, btw. I am sure some got in there. how much, not sure, but feel her lungs need opening.
A warm, humid room will get moisture to her lungs; it may make it more difficult to breathe (I'm asthmatic and the humidity is making it tough to breath for me). Saline in the nose only affects the nose. If the nose is congested, preservative-free, moisturizing eye drops might be used, as the eyes drain into the sinuses, if the vet OKs it.
 
Theresatramondo said:
but deb that is micro, if I was still on alpha it would be blue, but it should be around the corner.
Try not to think of it that way. The spreadsheet colors are set up for numbers on a human meter. So 40-99 are considered safe green numbers. 40 - 120 is the range of "normal".
When we think "Alpha numbers", the bottom "safe" end of "normal" is a 70. Our protocols allow for a standard 30 point difference between human meters and pet specific meters. The range for "normal" on an Alpha is 70-150.

So when you post a 92, if I translate that to an Alpha Trak reading, it is a 122. Which is a perfectly safe and perfectly "normal" BG number.

The best thing for you to do, in my opinion, is to forget anything having to do with the Alpha Track meter and data. If you're using the Relion, then all your thinking, and all our advice, should be based on what your Relion is showing.

In your PM today, you asked about "overlapping insulin". I take that to mean that you are wondering if it would be a good option to dose less than 12 hours apart? Hmmmm.

There are a couple people who have used a TID schedule, shooting every eight hours. They had lots of data showing a short duration and an early nadir on a regular basis. It does look like Tiffy might have a nadir before +6, and a duration less than 12 hours. But I don't know if it can be "conclusive" evidence that TID is right for her. I never did early shots on a regular basis with Bob. I did have to shoot early or late at times due to MY schedule, rather than because it was what Bob needed. So I have no experience with a planned shooting routine other than every 12 hours.

Carl
 
Okay bob ~ not going to overlap.
Deb, look @ spreadsheet. She rose to approx 299
Beejay, she had an x ray. She def has bronchitis. She is on xenoquin for it. She may need 3 cycles and she may b half spayed and he wants a sono or ekg for poss heart cond. I can't give her a naso or pneumo dialator w a possible heart.

I bought 2 homeopathic meds ~ one homeopath 4 cought for cats and a homeo vapor inhaler w mint
 
Theresatramondo said:
Hi, so I am not going to panic with the 92 because on the alpha it would be approx. 162 or so and even if it is only 130, D

The differences I calculated between your Micro and AlphaTrak readings (8 pairs of numbers, at higher ranges) resulted in the Micro being an average of 15-16% lower than the AlphaTrak, so an estimate of the AlphaTrak would be around 108 mg/dL, which is almost green. And those color ranges are somewhat arbitrary. You could just as easily have a range from 40 - 130 being green because thats the normal range for non-diabetic cats.

So she's doing great!!
 
Re: Tiffy - 07/16/13 amps 305 - 2.75, +4.5 - 92 pmps 279

tiffandiliac: is doing great, into the pure pinks and blues. she is huffing. I left dr a voicemail to call me back. I want to set ekg or sono. huffing, I bough a menthol inhaler, and put to her nose. no harm with menthol. she ate, admin'd 2.25. leaving her to roam the apt due to the panting, I took out all smellies in the house and may gravel her litter box. maybe she is allergic to the litter, but I did change it to A&H. I can actually do anything with tiffy she is such a good lil girl. I can do paper. will contemplate this over a mani. any suggestions on a litter with no dust? Only cause I've been researching why cat get asthma or allergies. :roll:
 
World's Best Cat litter is corn based; and Tractor Supply carries chicken scratch, about the same thing, much cheaper. Obviously not good if allergic to corn.

Sweat Scoop is wheat based. Not good if allergic to wheat.

Yesterday's News is recycled newspaper. Pellets are somewhat large and some cats object. Could trigger elimination on newspapers due to similar smell.

Plain sand, as opposed to any ''kitty litter", should by non-allergenic. Also, urine will drain to the bottom, so an absorbent layer under it might be good.

Litterboxes which drain urine through a non-absorbent litter to a lower section with absorbent pad help control litter odor - ex the Breeze system.
 
Her spreadsheet the last 2 days is looking good. (and it's not just because you are using the Micro).

Looks like she bounced up a bit after that 92 today. Perfectly normal. To be expected. We'll hope this trend continues, but know that a few higher numbers here and there are still to be expected too.

Besides her bronchitis and other health concerns, how is Tiffy feeling? We want a WCR (Whole Cat Report). You tell us how the 5 P's are and how her appetite is. Remember, Tiffy is more than just her numbers. She is roomie to Abyss and Dharma too. Are they getting more accustomed to each other?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top