Theresa,
To update the Subject that shows up on the main index, you go to the very first post in the thread and update it there.
Regarding the Preshots that are still in the 400s... This is probably "bouncing" that you are seeing. Here's what I saw with Bob, and I think many people see the same thing.
Bob started off with preshots like you are seeing. Upper 300s to lower 500s. The numbers in the middle at first were not that great. He was only on 1 unit, twice a day at first. My vet then came up with a sliding scale for me to use. The higher the preshots, the more insulin I gave. Bob was at a top dose of 4u twice a day when his preshots were in the 400s.
That's when the "change" started to take place for him. At first, he had mid-cycle numbers at that dose that were pretty much like you're seeing. Blue numbers. And at first, he bounced right back up again. But that was because even numbers as high as 150-170 were "too low" as far as his system was concerned. When a cat has been uncontrolled diabetic for some time, their body gets used to the higher BG numbers. And when they drop a couple hundred points in 5-6 hours, their system "freaks out". It thinks the BG is too low, even though it isn't low - it's still above "normal". But their bodies aren't "normal" any more. What I found, and others found the same thing was that the more often the cat sees blue numbers, the more "used to" them it gets. And the bounces don't happen as often, and they don't bounce so high. The curve starts to "flatten out". The nadirs stay blue, but the big improvement is that the preshot numbers come down.
That's when things start to improve overall. You see pink preshots, and you start to see green nadirs. And then the bouncing thing can happen again, until the cat "gets used" to green numbers once again. Then the preshots get better. They become yellow or blue even. As the preshots come down, the dose will come down. But you'll still see good nadirs. Yellow preshot, green nadirs. You drop the dose more and you get blue preshots and green nadirs.
As things get better, the curves will get flatter. Because it won't take as much insulin to get the nadirs you want, because there isn't as much difference between the "highs" and the "lows" over the course of a cycle.
The whole process, unfortunately, takes time and lots of patience. It took Bob four weeks of dose increases (which were given too soon and in too large increments really - I didn't post here much or ask for any dose advice when Bob was on insulin. I just read a lot and lurked a lot), and then six weeks coming back down the dose ladder before he went OTJ. And 10 weeks seemed like a lifetime to me then. But in reality, Bob's "dance" was one of the shorter ones I've seen in the two years I've been here. It usually doesn't happen that fast.
So for right now, don't sweat the red numbers at shot time. Most of them seem to me to be "bounces". I think your girl is just trying to get used to "blues" right now, and she'll get there. You don't want to increase and take the chance that the dose will be too much too soon. "Patience Pants" time. ;-) All cats bounce. People ask "how long will they bounce???"
The best answer I've seen on the board is "Kitties bounce. Until they don't". But eventually they stop.