Thumper reduced dose doesn't look so good

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
Since she got a 39 at +6 yesterday I reduced to .75 from 1 unit. She's getting some awful #'s now so should I go back up?

last night PMPS- 240
shot .75
+4 - 307
+6 - 310
AMPS - 414
shot .75
+6 - 376
PMPS tonight - 433
shot .75
+4 - 351
 
she's likely bouncing from the 39, barbara. when they hit a number in a range lower than they are used to, the liver lets loose with a flood of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugar to save the cat's life. in this case, 39 was a low number, but if a cat is accustomed to 300's and drops into 200's that can trigger the liver and result in a bounce as well.

keep that reduced dose of .75 and give it 3 days to clear. you should start seeing green numbers again, then you can re-evaluate if Thumper held the reduction or not. this is part of the dance and you just wait it out. thumper will clear it.
 
Thumper's most likely bouncing from the 39. A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. It is generally advised NOT to change doses during a bounce. Wait til it clears and give her a chance to settle into the new dose. Patience! :razz:

Oh, I see Julie and I were posting at the same time. :lol:
 
Ok I will wait it out but it sure is hard to see all those high numbers again. She's been doing so well on Lantus and I can tell a big difference in how she's acting. I had gotten so used to her acting sickly I guess I forgot how she used to be. She's moving all around the house now, something she hasn't done in a very long time, even when she was getting good #'s on Pro Zinc.
 
I know it's difficult to see the high numbers, so remember to look at the whole cat. She's moving all around the house now! That's fantastic! Concentrate on those kinds of things, instead of the high numbers - those are temporary. :-D
 
Thumper has been having really wild swings on Lantus. Might I suggest that she might be a good candidate to try Levemir instead.
 
i responded on barbara's other thread, but thumper's only been on lantus for 2 weeks. that's not long enough for nearly any cat to get stabilized. the bouncing numbers are part of it for nearly every cat, but if you think of it like a pendulum swinging (holding up that pocket watch and letting it slowly stop swinging back and forth) the bouncing around lessens and disappears given time and patience. the key here is learning how lantus works and when to hold doses and wait things out, or when it's time to increase/decrease the dose.
 
Great job with catching that 39.

I agree with Julie. It takes 5 - 7 days for the insulin depot to form. That leaves about a week to look at how Thumper is responding to Lantus. That's insufficient time to evaluate the efficacy of Lantus. Given the similarity of Lantus and Lev, I would not expect to see much of a difference and, in fact, there would be another week of starting over with a new insulin, high numbers while the depot forms, etc. I would want to wait at least couple of months (not weeks) before determining if this insulin is a good choice for this cat.

Right now, Thumper is reacting to the drop in BG. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.
 
First of all, good catch with the 39, second of all this is a bounce and you have to be patient and wait it out.
I agree with Julie and Sienne, that you should give Lantus a good try (of a couple of months), before switching insulins.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top