Thumper - no shoot again this AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
Haven't updated the SS yet but AMPS was 149 - no shot - i checked again in 1 hr & it was 185. I decided not to shoot. I'm gonna need help! I know as a newbie I wasn't going to shoot under 200 but I also know it's not good to go without & this seems to be a trend. I'm happy her #'s are coming down but I'm nervous about shooting when they are since I have to leave her during the day. I'm at work but I will be back this PM. Advice on dosing?
 
Barbara I know this can be scary. Sometimes the scariest part of FD is helping you kitty go OTJ becuase you end up taking some 'minor' risks toward the end.
My thought is when you clearly see the kitty is on the rise...it is OK to shoot. We don't expect him to make a u-turn by himself, perhaps hold his own but a u-turn is unlikely for thumper at this point. Having said that if you are still uncomfortable shoot a smaller dose, which would also have been appropriate. Missing a shot on a rising number, a number that is rising that quickly, you will soon learn does not make sense.
As usual it would be lovely if I am wrong and you come home to a very pretty low blue on a no-shoot :-D
Still the chance of a hypo on a .2 or .3 on that 180 something would be terribly terribly unlikely....almost un heard of.
 
Great thing is that Thumper is getting better #'s, even though it makes dosing tricky for her mama. Good thing is you have a weekend coming up and hopefully that will give you a little room to experiment and test. Often when a kitty is close to going OTJ (into remission), they will get low-ish pre shots but still in the diabetic range (normal is 40-120). This is when you would consider experimenting with micro doses. It depends on the kitty, but for some just a few days or weeks with a micro dose is enough support that allows the pancreas to heal. I can totally understand your feelings of being a "newbie," and it is a shift in thinking from original recommendations not to shoot a number under 200 to shooting a micro dose.

For tonight, you have a couple options depending on how Thumper tests. I don't think there is one right one. If Thumper is back in the 300's like yesterday, you could either shoot the same .5u or back off just a hair to .4u or .3u with the thought that, if you back off a hair, you'll have a slightly higher # in the morning that you're more comfortable shooting.

Like Lori said, if you have a number that is rising, you could consider a micro dose of .2u or .3u. Like you've been doing, when you get a low pre shot, you want to wait 15-20 min and test again (no feeding). Again, if the number is rising (you decide what range you're comfortable with and can adjust as needed...something like 180-200), you would consider a micro. If the number is holding steady, you could wait and test again. One reason you would consider a micro dose rather than skipping a shot is you want to head off your kitty's BG #'s going higher since the healing occurs in the lower #'s. For some kitties, diet change and enough time spent in the lower #'s with support from insulin allows the pancreas to heal and start working again on it's own. When this is happening, there can be "sputter" factor where the numbers can be a little jumpy.

You're doing good. You need to feel comfortable with what dose you give Thumper. That's why you ask questions. And who knows? Like Lori said, Thumper may surprise us all with a great # tonight. Keep us posted.
 
ya know...some folks get thrown into the deep end pretty quickly. the advice of NO SHOOTING BELOW 200 is broken by the more experienced folks all the time. you are now in the position of shooting like an experienced folk. and in a way you are now :razz:
you can see some trends, some routine moves...welcome to the 'real thing' where you analyze and take the best of two choices...your best that is.
 
SS updated....I went ahead & shot .50 with the U40 syringes....it was getting late, MY dinner was getting cold! LOL! I didn't want to rush with the U100's till I had more time & felt comfortable with what I was giving. I'm looking at the conversions chart suspecting I will have a low # again in the morning. And I am planning on trying to get a +6 tonight. I'm not sure I get it? It looks like this says .50 on the U40 syringe would be between 1.0 & 1.5 on the U100? So, if she is lower than 200 again tomorrow morning I would possibly shoot .2 which would be the 1st mark on the U100 syringe? That looks like a lot less than what I have been dosing? Should I do .4 instead? And when you say .3, is that just somewhere between 1.0 & 0.5? And just so I can see if I'm reading this right......I started out giving 2 units when she was first diagnosed (with the U40 syringes the vet gave me for the Pro Zinc) the same amount using the U100 would be 5.0, as in the first # written on the syringe? Sorry, you gotta break it down for me....I'm a visual person! LOL! I'm so confused!
 
With the higher pre shot number tonight, I think the .5u is a good call. On the syringe conversion, you've got it right Barbara but it doesn't hurt to check. We always say at work, just need a second pair of eyes. The first shorter line that's .5u on U100 syringe is equal to .2u on the U40. To give .4u of PZI would be the second (and longer) line on the U100 syringe (1.0). .5u of PZI would be between the 1.0 and 1.5u on the U100 and to give .3u of PZI would be between the .5 and 1.0 on the U100. It's subtle but the size of the U100 syringe is different than the U40. Now, you can see why so many people advised printing the conversion chart. I had to look at it every time to make sure I was doing it right. .2u on a low pre shot should be a good place to start (again you want to make sure the # is rising like today's 150 and 185). Then you can spot check with some tests and see how the #'s are doing and decide for the next cycle if you need a smidge more or less. Sending good vibes for nice #'s tomorrow for Thumper.
 
Yes you are reading the conversion chart right.

If I were you I would not start shooting the lower bg's until after you get another curve done. You are getting a really big punch from the .5u on high PS's I'd like to see what is happening during the cycle.

I hung the conversion chart on the fridge and checked it twice on every shot just to be sure I had it right.

You'll get this, I promise.
 
Oh Lord, I don't know what the heck to shoot, assuming she's low again tomorrow morning. It does seem like .2 is low but I know NOTHING! But then again when I look at the conversion sheet it looks like what I have been shooting (.5 on the U40 syringes) would be between the 1.0 & the 1.5 on the U100. Hmm....Harley that's what you just said, isn't it?

Rob, I don't think I'm following you. Are you saying not to shoot when her BG is low like it was the past 2 mornings? I hate sounding so stupid. I feel like I'm asking the same question over & over? When you say I'm getting a big punch from the .5 after the high PM readings you mean cause her BG is lower in the morning? I think I'm messing things up by not shooting in the AM? I was hoping to try the smaller dose tomorrow AM since I will be home.

I got a +2 of 308 and a +4 of 259. I'm going to try to get a +6, if I can stay awake! Updating the SS now.
 
Hi Barbara,
the .5u you are looking for on a u100 syringe would be right after the 1u line. let's see...every line on u100 equals .4 so yep...just past the 1u line.

I still think you need to shoot those rising morning numbers to balance your day out. And I'm not sure exactly where Robin is seeing the punch...I can't find it.
So....shoot on the way up...and I'd have to go look at your SS again to see what your shooting those pm's but I'm sure it was .5 right? So a rising amps under 200 would be elidgable for I believe a .3 which would be just a shave below the 1unit line on the u100.

make sense?
see you tomorow Barbare k?
Lori
 
Yep, Thanks Lori!

I'm wondering if Robin was talking about her #'s being in the 300's in the PM? But that was after being without insulin for pretty much 24hrs? I'm just really guessing cause I don't know what i'm doing! :lol:

Starting a new thread for today!
 
The punch I see is that for the last 2 days the .5u on a bg of over 300 is giving her 24 hours duration.

Sorry, I didn't read this thread before I posted on your thread today but that doesn't change what I think.

My first instinct, without any mid cycle tests, would be to lower the .5u on a bg over 300 to try to get a shootable next PS.

Since she was higher this morning, and not much action last night I guess that changes things.
 
yes, if you consider +13 in the 180's duration. perhaps the dose can be reduced some to allow a BID shooting schedule. ending up in the 300s everyday is not that great either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top