Thumper dose weirdness

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
It's been a crazy few weeks at my house & this last one has been awful since my civvie is having kidney issues. I have been having a hard time getting Thumper back to eating FF since her pancreatitis attack so I was trying out some different foods. I think that was the reason her BG increased back on the 21st, then she threw me a curve ball on Christmas eve & I ended up skipping her shot that night so up she went again. She's been eating her FF pretty well the past couple of days & I was thinking I was going to need to increase her Lantus dose. For some odd reason she was 125 at PMPS tonight & +2 was 79. Nothing has changed. I'm not complaining about the good numbers just puzzled as to what is going on. I just hope it continues! Her SS is updated if anyone has time to take a look.
 
Barbara, i think she's bouncing. she got that 58 on 12/27, stayed high until it cleared the night of the 30th, hitting the greens again last night and bouncing by this morning, then the 39 today . . . you want to decrease the dose by .25.

so her new dose would be .75u tonight.

the bounces can last up to 3 days, so you never want to increase a dose on a bounce (which you didn't, i'm just re-saying it in case you don't know.)

the bouncing will decrease as thumper gets used to these lower numbers. i'd really keep an eye on her because it looks like she's responding very well to the Lantus.

every time below 50 decrease by .25. you may be on your way to happy land. ;-)
 
Thanks Julie, that 39 today took me by surprise. She had been off sleeping under the bed in front of the heat vent so that was the first test I got on her today. I'm glad she came out, actually maybe that's why she came out cause she came into the kitchen looking for a snack. I reduced to .75 which I hate cause I have a hard time seeing between the lines but this is a good problem to have.

Now if her sister would just get better. She's looking pretty bad. :cry:
 
Hi Barbara,

Thumper is bouncing a lot. There are so many rainbow colors on his SS. Julie has given you some great advice.

My advice is that you and your vet try Levemir on Thumper. It can bring a lower, flatter curves for diabetic cats. Lantus doesn't work for all cats.

V
 
i think i'd encourage barbara to give it a bit longer of a trial. you've only had thumper on lantus for 2 weeks - that's barely long enough for the shed to build. i'd give it a few months, honestly. most cats really respond to the lantus, but you have to learn how it works and wait out the quirky numbers.

patience wins this race - the bouncing lessens and ends for nearly all cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top