Thumper 9/4 - Interesting discovery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
PMPS - 309
shot 1.3
+6 - 166
Today
AMPS - 238
shot 1.3
PMPS - 229
shot 1.3

I was reading what Denise posted somewhere about getting better results when she changed injection sites on Shakes. I was taught by the vet to shoot the scruff which I did until I read on the board somewhere about shooting into the side & shooting the scruff causing some sort of injection site reaction. I don't have any idea when I started shooting on her side but it was quite awhile ago. I started shooting the scruff Friday night, since I'm in a stupor on most mornings I don't remember where I shot yesterday morning but have been shooting the scruff each time since then. She is getting better numbers consistently than she has in weeks, 2 YELLOW PS's in a row!! The only thing I've done differently is change injection sites! I hope it continues & it's not just a fluke. It surprised me since I think the general recommendation around here is to shoot in the side, unless I confused that somehow.
 
FWIW--I have also switched back to the scruff and am getting better numbers!
 
Shakes numbers are worse in the scruff, but I have to always change sides
for the injections...thinking there is some sort of build up or something
but changing locations always helps us!

glad to see that Thumpers numbers are doing really good!!

Denise and Shakes
 
I've never shot in the scruff; I was taught from my vet to shoot in the flank, shoulder or side of stomach. She said to vary site of injection every day because thickening of tissue can happen if you shoot same place daily.
Glad Thumper is seeing some improvement!
 
This is a perfect example of ECID. I havn't shot the scruff since 2009. I switch it around to what ever area I can reach at the time, the shoulder, armpit or flank or whatever area has the thinest skin.

Happy Thumper is seeing better numbers how ever you are getting them. :-D
 
Rob & Harley said:
This is a perfect example of ECID. :-D

That's exactly what I was thinking! I'm glad I read about Denise changing site cause I just didn't think of it. I would have never imagined it would make this much of a difference!! Get this:

+4 - 76

I am just shocked it has made this much difference! Isn't it funny....Kim & I getting better #'s shooting the scruff & Shakes gets worse #'s there. Angela, maybe you should try the scruff if you're not happy with Henry's #'s. I hope our luck continues!
 
I was taught to shoot the scruff, too. Don't have plans to change until he stabilizes. Interesting experiment, though.
 
OK this might seem like a roundabout way to get there but bear with me. You know how we always tell newbies that the "Ears wil learn to bleed" when starting home testing? Well, today I think I found out that they forget to bleed just a quickly. I got a call from my vet today about another issue (potassium levels) and when I got off the phone it occurred to me that I hadn't tested Bob's BG since last Monday just before his vet appt.! So I grabbed the meter and did so (61) but after mastering the "one poke with a 33g lancet" technique a few weeks back, it took me 3 POKES to get blood! I'd been told that the ears learn to bleed coinciding with a buildup of scar tissue in that area that actually made it easier to get blood eventually. OK, here's were I come back to the point...
Maybe the same thing happens at the injection site, but it has the opposite effect? Maybe the scarring causes absorption of insulin to lessen?
Great idea switching locations, and super to see better results after doing so. I always wondered if the absorbtion of insulin would be affected by frequent sub-q fluid treatments as well. I know Kim and a couple others here need to do sub-q fluids often. Do y'all find another place to shoot insulin other than the areas you are poking for sub-q?

Carl

Nice +4 by the way!
 
Poor Thumper's ears ought to be worn out I've tested her so much since she's been diagnosed. Lately I have tried to not test so much cause I wasn't getting any answers anyway. She's just been all over the place. I have noticed lately her ears don't bleed as well, maybe it's cause I haven't been testing as much. I'm also getting more lazy about it though & don't warm them as well. Who know?
 
I might try the scruff when we get high and flat again.
Way to go Thumper!
Something certainly has made an improvement.
 
Carl, I do not give the insulin at the same site as the sub qs. Well, not for 24 hours after administering fluids.
 
You know, I have to say that I think it is "wherever you werent shooting"
and you shoot you are going to see good numbers..
Iin the beginning with Shakes I shot the scruff and after a couple of months
we saw no movement which is when I switched to the sides and saw lots of movements

Just be careful if you switch and shoot for the first time
either be around to test or reduce dose!

SO glad Thumpers numbers are better!
 
Go Thumper!

I have to laugh at you all talking about different injection sites. We do try to alternate, but mostly, we just shoot where Sir Alex allows us to shoot. And never in the scruff. He goes beserk when I try that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top