Thumper 8/10 - new vial questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
I don't have the exact # in front of me but she was around 320 this morning. She also started showing trace ketones so I decided to increase a tiny bit to 1.7 this morning. I was thinking of going ahead & shooting 1.8 tonight due to the ketones & I will be home. That is if I'm still getting a high PS. I'm trying to get DH to go by & get a +5 or +6 on her also.

I got a new vial of ProZinc this morning. Kim, you know a lot about new vials...should I stick with the same dose or lower a bit? My current vial has been abused & I'm surprised it's still working at all so that's why I was wondering about the dose. In fact MAYBE that's why we are back in the 300's with what looks like a nadir of no lower than 200 since her low of 70 the other day? I only had about a 1/4 of the bottle left anyway. I'm grasping at straws here...trying to figure out what's up with this girl. confused_cat
 
I have found that the new vials are more potent initially. I would suggest dropping back .2 on your first dose out of the new vial and see where it takes you. If it is not more potent, you will know within 12 hours and can go right back to your "normal" dose. I also would start the new vial on a cycle you will be able to test.

Good Luck!
 
Glad Kim answered because I've never replaced a vial yet. We are still on the same one I got back in late March. That said, I'm probably going to have to replace this one in a few weeks so this is good info to know.
 
AMPS - 326
shot 1.7
+5 - 332
PMPS - 310
shot 1.6 out of a new vial

I'm confused as usual 1.4 did not seem to be enough so I went to 1.6 and she dropped to 70 @ +5 then went right back up to 300's & stayed there. This morning I increased just .1 mostly due to the fact she's showing trace ketones and we get a flat day which I believe indicates too much insulin? I started a new vial tonight since I will be home. I stuck with 1.6 since I was considering increasing to 1.8 tonight.
 
I never know what to make of Thumper's variable #'s. Paws crossed you see some nice #'s tonight with your new vial.
 
It is a mystery. At least you will be around tonight to test and watch what happens, lets hope for some new vile/vial zip, but not too much. :-D
 
Sometimes with Bix he would drop down to a nice nadir but couldn't really hold it so to speak. For him, more insulin gave him better duration, and didn't give him scary nadirs like you might think. It's a puzzle, but I certainly saw that with him that when the dose was too low it would give us inconsistent results. Higher dose, and he got consistent good cycles after that. I don't know if that's what's up with Thumper & I haven't studied her SS lately, but wanted to mention that.

The inconsistency with Bix kept me scared to raise his dose for a long time, I thought if I saw a good nadir on one dose, then it would be too low a nadir on a higher dose, but it didn't always correlate one to one like that. I mean, to some extent yes, higher dose = lower nadir, but on those inconsistent ones it didn't always seem to line up one to one with the dose in a clear way. I don't know if that means maybe his pancreas kicked in sometimes now & then and that's the better numbers or what, but anyhow....
 
+3 - 241
+4 - 206

Glad she's coming down some! I'm thinking she will be fine so I'm going to bed. I hope we get better results with this new vial.

Joanna, It looks like that's what happened a few days ago & it has kept me scared to increase cause I keep wondering if something wonky is going on. I think I'm going to hold her at this 1.6 out of the new vial until Friday night, unless of course she drops low again, then I'm going to increase Friday PM shot.
 
Hi Barbara,
I am going to throw my 2 cents in here...
I think You should stick with the 1.6 for a little while
sometimes when Shakes sees a 70 he will stay higher for a few days
and then settle nicely into the dose
I am a fan of holding the dose for awhile before rising
because Shakes had dropped dramatically after being on a dose for 5 days..
Also on new vials, I have seen Shakes numbers change, but then they also have not changed

Good luck

Dneise and Shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top