Thumper 7/9 - what's my no shoot # now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
PMPS - 207
shot .5
+3 - 163
+5 - 102
AMPS - 162
shot .5
45 mins late this morning cause I over slept

Since I was late this morning I decided to go ahead & shoot instead of testing again, knowing I would be home today. But, what should I be doing? And even though she's low we are not getting any greens, I guess I shouldn't say that though since I'm not getting any mid cycle tests except last night.
 
Today will be a good day to get those mid cycle tests in and see what she's really doing during the day.

Then we can decide on a lower no shoot number.
 
You want to look at your recent data and see what that tells you for a no-shoot. Wherever you have shot and gotten some data that the shot was safe (taking into account that late shots are a like a dose decrease, early shots are like a dose increase), then you can lower your no shoot from there and collect more data.

If it were me, I would be shooting at 150. I think so far you have waited a little when you get a PS like that, so if shooting right at 150 at +12 is new, I might take the dose down to 0.4. I would probably actually stick with 0.5 and get data, but I wouldn't argue with pulling back to 0.4 if that is what will give you the confidence to go ahead and shoot.

Generally speaking I think things have gotten way too conservative with the no-shoots. The goal IMO is for everyone to be able to shoot right at 150. The idea I think is to start at 200 and gather some data and then lower to 180 with data, and then to 150 with more data. In my view that whole process should only be like over a week or two, or whatever the data dictates. It seems like generally speaking we have people here staying with a 200 no-shoot for weeks, and always seeming afraid to shoot any lower. I'm not sure how that has all come about, except to say I know I have not been pushing anyone to move their no-shoots lower, so sorry about that.

For Thumper, I think it is time. You have some data, she is doing well, and the doses are low, so I would go for it. Of course keep getting data, and if you shoot lower than you are used to, you always want to get in a early-cycle check to be sure. But I wouldn't overly worry about it.
 
AMPS - 162
shot .5
+4 - 76
+6 - 98
+8 - 162
+10 - 174
+11.5 - 207
I'm calling this PMPS even though we are really about 30 mins early. She's eating now & I was thinking of raising to .6. These are really strange #'s so I don't know what to think. That looks like a nadir at +4? Should I increase?
 
Hummm Joanna always said that the fast early drop was not enough insulin but I always thought that it was too much, with a fast early drop and than a slight bounce. How's that for a non answer.

If you want to go to .6u be sure to get a +3 or +4 to see where she is.
 
Actually I am liking her day. The +4 and +6 are only 20 points apart so given the 20% variance, almost the same number. If you decide to increase, I would only make it a fat .5 and plan to test tonight.

Let's see what others think. I may be too conservative.
 
I hate decisions...I could drop back to .4...I never even considered it might be too much.
 
No I wouldn't drop lower. I'm going to vote for staying with the .5u.

Sue is right she had a good day, I was trying to be braver :-D .
 
I can't read minds, but I can tell from your recent post that it appears you are wanting to become more aggressive to get Thumper in better numbers or OTJ. If that is the case, you have to pick your times to be aggressive. Is tonight a good night? Are you prepared if the numbers go low--MC and HC food on hand---able to test the cycle? If the answers are yes, then why not try the .6. Low numbers are only a problem if you are not testing and are not pepared.

I am not trying to encourage you to shoot anything--just stating my feelings toward being aggressive.

Are you ready and prepared?!
 
Me too...and I don't like 200's anymore...that's too high! :lol: Ok, I'm just gonna stick with .5 and see what happens. I was thinking if I increased I might not get a shootable # at +12.
 
Well, that is what I was thinking but I'm so unsure. It seems like to me her numbers are creeping up a little and that +4 today was totally weird. I think I really am worrying too much. I keep watching her like a hawk & she just bit me when I gave her shot. That's what she was doing leading up to her "episode" a few weeks ago. She did that last week also & that's when I started the pepcid. I know....I'm sounding like a crazy internet cat person!
 
Join the crowd...we are ALL Crazy Internet Cat People!!! I have been called worse.......
 
I shot .5 and now am gonna start obsessing about what food to feed them. :roll: I think I might need some kind of medication. :lol: Especially since I don't like wine. Is there a name for worrying about your cat too much?
 
Yes, I have been telling you....Repeat after me...


My Name is Barbara and I am a Feline Diabetic Cataholic? :lol:

You need rehab!!!!
 
Find one that is escape proof for Alex!

My name is Barbara & I'm a Feline Diabetic Cataholic...... haha_smiley
 
Rob & Harley said:
Hummm Joanna always said that the fast early drop was not enough insulin but I always thought that it was too much, with a fast early drop and than a slight bounce.

No, not me!!!! I don't recall who, but several who have used ProZinc have said (I think) that an early nadir is a sign the dose is too low. It puzzles me b/c I think a fast early drop means too much, however an early nadir (like +4) w/o the fast early drop and then not much duration past the +4, that looks like too little insulin to me. So I'm not sure what people mean when they say early nadir = dose too low, b/c it's very difference scenarios in my mind that can show an early nadir.

As for Thumper, my guess would be shorter duration that has her rising by +8. My guess (just speculation) is that if the numbers/dose is good enough for her, her pancreas kicks in and that gets you the good duration and unshootable +12. If the numbers/dose aren't quite there, then she is rising already by +8. Total speculation on my part.

Even though it looks like an early nadir, I don't think the drop is too fast or steep. My only concern would be that it doesn't leave much room to drop after the 76, and that could contribute to the early rise? I don't think she would hypo, but still I like to see enough room to drop nicely to a 50, and I'm not sure if she wants more room in there, or is enjoying the green ride.

I don't think I would lower the dose though. I forget her feeding patterns, but I might try some early cycle feeding and see how that affects her? That lets you keep at the higher dose, and ease the drop gently (well, if it works well). If she is doing well I think there is room to experiment. Odds are she will do just fine on any of 0.4, 0.5, or 0.6, it's just fine-tuning it to see how she does, what gives her the best surf, etc. And you are a pro now, so if you try any of those and get results you don't like, you know what to do to adjust for it.
 
No worries! I may have quoted someone. LOL & maybe you thought "since this is the opposite of what I'd say... hmmm... MUST be Joanna" :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry couldn't resist! :razz: Sometimes we agree, sometimes we don't. :mrgreen:
 
Maybe all the "cataholics"could appear on a special episode of Intervention and instead of calming collars we could try some of those doggy "thunder shirts" in human size :lol:
 
What's a doggie thunder shirt?

+2 - 182
+4 - 120

A little higher tonight on the +4 & I just realized PMPS was the same last night also.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top