Thumper 7/3 - She's not feeling good :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
PMPS - 233
shot .5
+3- 173
+5 - 93
+7 - 124

AMPS - 282 I was about 1/2 hr late
shot .5
+3- 250

I really think whatever was wrong with her before is starting again. She stayed on the couch last night, she's not moving around much & she fussed at me again this morning when I gave her insulin. IF it's pancreatitis will giving her pepcid help? She's eating well & not vomiting. I'm going to a friends house for the afternoon & won't be back for PM shot. If she's still over 200 should I increase? I've got a feeling BG is going to continue to climb but hopefully I'm wrong. DH will be testing & shooting tonight's dose but I will be back later so I can get a test in & watch her overnight. :sad:
 
I think I would try the Pepcid and see if it helps.

I'm not sure about going up in dose yet. Last nights #'s look perfect to me. Unless she's alot higher I would stick with the .5u.

Have fun today.
 
Sorry-- I was afraid of this after your post last night.

I would pm Laura and Harley or post on health about the pancreatitis.

Good luck--
 
I am so sorry she doesnt feel well...
I ahve evrything crossed that she will feel better soon..
She had nice numbers yesterday though!

Have a great time today and try not to worry!

Denise and SHakes
 
Yeah, I don't know anything about P'titis, but I would post on Health or something and see if your "early warning signs" match what others see. If her numbers are going up I would go ahead and increase to 0.6 as kind of a test case before increasing more aggressively if needed, but also see what the people with pancreatitis experience say. Hope it blows over soon. :evil: When the vets are back open, I would also push for Bupe to have on hand for when she has these flareups. Even if it's something else, it will help her be more comfortable.
 
P.s. I would go ahead and give her the Pepcid if you can, if you've already gotten the ok that it is safe to give her that (should be, but I'm not a vet). Can't hurt, might help. From what I understand, it's one of those things that works best when given several days in a row, so I would go ahead and get started on it and not wait & see if she gets worse.
 
I hope Thumper feels better soon. Sounds like the Pepcid might head off worsening symptoms.
She had very good numbers yesterday.
Enjoy your day and hopefully this is a small setback and she will not feel worse.
 
PMPS - 232
forgot what the heck I was doing, all I could think about is keeping her from going any higher so I told DH to shoot .6
+4 - 99

He said she wouldn't get up to eat but after he took her to the food bowl she did eat. She doesn't look like she feels great to me. I'm gonna keep an eye on her and test her again in a little while.
 
Marcy, thanks for the link. I did read a bit about it a couple of weeks ago but I need to read it again. And I did go ahead & give her the pepcid.
 
I think she will tolerate it just fine, tho it is a teensy low for a +4, but not dangerous. Good idea to retest like you are though, and if she snacked a little that's good. It may be that she is feeling well enough that it's not causing any change in her numbers, or could be her numbers go higher when they do more from low eating than from not feeling well. It's all speculation really, but looks like she isn't going a lot higher so far, so that is good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top