Thumper 7/2 - should I shoot early?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 146
20 mins later 168

She's eating, by the time we get to shoot it's gonna be +12.5. Guess I'm sticking with .4

Also, I was reading a thread on Health last night & someone said you should never shoot insulin back into the syringe when you draw too much out. We had a little discussion on someone's thread here the other day about this, I think a couple of us are doing it. I'm drawing a lot of insulin in the syringe cause it's easier to get rid of the air bubbles that way, then I just push it back into the bottle. I've just started doing this in the last couple of weeks, and her #'s have been improving. So is this a no no...probably is & that would just go to prove Thumper is backwards!
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

Robin, I think I was editing my post after you read it. Will you go back & take a look?
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

Good Morning!

Thump is looking Good!

I push the insulin back each time-- pull up and push out to where I want it!
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

I've always heard that pushing the insulin back into the vial is a no no. There is a coating inside the syringe that can contaminate the insulin. I wonder if that has anything to do with so many peoples PZ pooping out early.

I over draw the insulin too because of the air bubble, flick the bubble to the top and push it out over the sink along with any extra insulin.
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

Interesting, I think it was Donna that said she does it also. It's crazy that I just started doing that & Thumper's #'s have improved. I don't even know how I discovered it works so well in getting rid of the air bubbles. Guess I won't do that anymore. So do you just draw an extra .2 or so? Maybe we should start a thread here with a warning about doing that?
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

Interesting! I will quit that-- my vet actually is the one that told me to do it!
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

I just read the most horrible story over on health about some poor girl overdosing her cat. I'm in tears. :cry: I don't understand why vets send people home with insulin to inject in a living being & don't tell them they have to check BG. I get that it's scary & I thought I would never be able to do it but I'm so thankful I found this board & realized I had to. People obviously test their own BG all the time...why is it so hard for the vets to tell them they have to test their kitties! I just pray this girls cat recovers!
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

I am pretty sure you should not put any insulin back in the vial with Lantus. I "think" I read it is okay with PZI, but I never did it. The vet said not to.

I think it is probably best to squirt the extra out in the sink as Robin does. The ProZinc seems to peter out early in some cats; I suppose that could be part of the issue.
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

The ProZinc website has how-to instructions for filling the syringe. From reading this, I understand it's OK to put insulin back into the vial.

These are the last 2 instructions:

Now gently push the plunger back in to the prescribed dose. Take your finger off of the plunger and withdraw the needle from the vial.
Now you're ready to give the injection.
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

146
AMPS - 168 20 mins later
shot .4 @ 12.5
+2 - 194
+4 - 101
+6 - 119

I think I'll get a +7 just to see what's going on here.
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

So now I'm getting obsessive with the testing!

+7- 138
+8 - 154
+9 - 161

Not turning out like I thought it would, looks like she's gonna be higher tonight than she has been. So far it looks like .4 is not enough!
 
Re: Thumper 7/2

Not necessarily higher tonight -- the last two test are pretty flat!
 
Just asking ..... Why shoot early? I am a novice , but I am curious-- you only have 1.5 more hours--I would wait it out and get the data---the data might prove more helpful than shooting early. She is not that high.

Just my thoughts....
 
The thought just occured to me...since she's over 200 to keep her from getting too much higher.
 
Rob & Harley said:
I agree, I'd like to see what she does until then. Did she eat this afternoon?

I saw her getting a snack a couple of times but I don't think she has had any since before the +8 and even then it wasn't much. The first time it was still frozen so she was just licking it.
 
So when I get ready to shoot should I go up to .5 or .6?


Ugh...I fogot & left the dry food out, Petey just found it & did a scarf & barf. And no Thumper did not get in it!
 
I'd go with .5u. that looked borderline high a few days ago so should be ok now.

I wonder what changed? Maybe her P is getting tired.
 
Rob & Harley said:
I'd go with .5u. that looked borderline high a few days ago so should be ok now.

I wonder what changed? Maybe her P is getting tired.

With the .5 I didn't get a shootable # @ +12 a few times. I guess I might just have to deal with that cause it looks like .4 is not enough to me.
 
Barbara, I think you are turning into an As Needed gal! :thumbup With that, you go ahead and shoot if they are past nadir and above the level where you want them (150, or higher if that's your no-shoot), for just the reason you said - why wait til she's higher?

The factor I think that you want to keep in mind is what happens with the next shot. If you shoot at say +10.5 and that puts your next +12 at a time when you will be asleep for instance, and won't be testing until it's +13.5, then I'd say wait til closer to your regular time to shoot rather than taking the early shot. If you'll be testing again though at the next +12, then I'm a fan of going for the shot.

It can be a little confusing on dosing though, especially as you get earlier than +10, b/c if you overreduce you lose the whole point of shooting, and if you don't reduce enough, you can get sudden drops to greens that can be scary. But especially around +10.5 or +11, you probably don't need to reduce the dose much if at all, so I like shooting then when it works as far as the ongoing shot schedule.

I agree with you the 0.4 looks a little thin - good numbers, but I think she will do best in the greens! 0.5 makes sense to me to try as a next step. Hope tonight goes great!!!!
 
+11.5 - 233
shot .5

I hope this isn't anything but she screamed at me when I stuck her....she hasn't done that since she was feeling bad AND after she finished eating she just laid on the rug. I went over & touched her belly, she fussed & swatted at me. :YMSIGH: I hope she's not feeling bad again.
 
I really hope I'm just imagining things but she's just laying around a lot. UGH.... I can't take it...and I know if she gets like before they will think I'm nuts to want to repeat the fPL test. I just dread the thought of them telling me it's her diabetes.

And Callie is enjoying the kitty crack, she also wanted DH to give her some whip cream...which he did. But, she's been at the water bowl a lot today. If diabetes didn't show up what could that mean? They said something about specific gravity being on the low side (I think that's what she said) but nothing really out of wack?

+3 - 173
 
Hopefully she is just extra-thirsty today! I think specific gravity has to do with kidneys? Low = less concentrated urine? I wouldn't worry about it if the vet isn't worried - maybe get a follow-up test in a month or something to see if it has worsened? But I would think it might just be the dry food making her thirsty today, if she has been eating canned she will be used to getting more water from that.

Could Thumper be lying around from the heat or anything like that maybe? I hope she isn't getting sick again - she just got feeling better!!!!
 
+5 - 93

Now I'm wondering if I need to stay up? I was going to bed, but I'm also curious just how low she's gonna go.
 
Very nice! I wouldn't worry - it's close to peak time and there's still plenty of room for her to drop more. If she doesn't free feed I might give her a small LC snack just so I could sleep peacefully and not be worried. :)

Looks like you hit the nail on the head with the dose, yippee!
 
Or now that I think about it, is she not feeling well and eating less? That could also account for lower numbers, though it's not really the way you want to come by them. :evil: But hopefully that's not it, and she's eating well & feeling good!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top