Thumper 7/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
last night PMPS - 181
+ 3.5 - 230
+11 - 147
AMPS - 161

She's rising but should I still shoot .5? Hmm....I don't know why I'm questioning it all of a sudden? I shot into a 181 last night. Guess I need a second opinion?
 
Well, I fed her after the 161...couldn't wait anymore...one of the civvies already woke up my daughter cause I wasn't feeding her & I thought Petey was gonna bite me! :lol: Geez, I can't wait till tonight so I can maybe start getting some #'s on her....acutally it might be tomorrow since I'm shooting so late now. Ok, I'm gonna shoot .4
 
BTW, can I use Forti Flora to get civvie Callie more interested in food? She's eating but just little bits & she mostly doesn't come to eat at meal times. Also, where do you buy it?
 
Hi Barbara,
Sorry I cant help with what to shoot....
good question on the fortiflora, I was wondering the same thing!

Have a great day!

Denise andShakes
 
Yes it can help get them more interested in food, it is normally used for diahearea so you can use it for that too.

I got mine from the vet, it was probably more expensive than Amazon though.
 
+10.5 - 138

Assuming she will rise to at least 150 do I shoot .4 like this morning? I had been shooting .5 until today I will be home tonight & am planning on staying home all day tomorrow except maybe a quick run to the grocery store but I probably won't be home much on Sunday.
 
I can't speak of the dose, but the fortiflora is cheaper on Amazon. I see someone provided you the link.
If you don't want to wait on shipping, you can call your vet and see if they have it. I was able to pick up a couple packs that way. If your vet don't have it, call around. One of them around town will have it.
The vet sold them for like $2/pk, but I was worried because Callie Mae wasn't eating, so I wanted some right away.
Just a suggestion to get you through. Shipping will probably be slow with the holiday weekend and all.

:-D
 
Just my opinion, but 10 points lower on a 150 is a lot different than on a 200
 
The vet called, civvie Callie's blood work is ok. I got Jen to break out the stashed dry food today, she pigged out on that! Jen said she barely came up for air! One of the other civvies smelled it I guess & came looking for some but she had already put it away. What the heck's in that stuff? It's hard to believe she just decided she didn't like the FF. I still think I'll try the Forti Flora unless there's something else to put in the wet to attract her. Since she's eating the dry stuff I will just go ahead & order it. Also, I decided to get some gel caps just to keep around. Anybody order them, and if so where from?

Judy, thanks for the Amazon link and if I was reading correctly if we go there from the Shop link FDMB gets a kick back!
 
kse said:
150 is a low shooting number


Test her again

I'm going to test her again before I feed her. That's a +10.5 so we still have a little bit before I do PMPS.
 
geez, I just got the "crack" out....was gonna feed Callie...they all came running..like flies! :lol:
 
Since my civvie quit eating I decided to try giving her some dry food I had stored away...they all could smell it and went nuts! :lol: Just joking!
 
Ok going with .4 & getting as many #'s as I can...what's the most important? I saw Sue post something the other day about every 3 hrs? So is just 3 - 6 - 9 ok or do I need more?
 
The Fortiflora is a digestive enzyme used to treat intestinal tract issues like a probiotic.

Dry kibble cat food, affectionately known here as "kitty crack" because it is so hard to switch some of the kitties over to wet low carb canned food is coated with a digestive enzyme to attract them to eat it. That's why people use the Fortaflora on the wet food to get them to eat.
 
I started second guessing myself so I went back and looked at your ss. Tonights PS was a little higher than the AMPS but she didn't start to zoom until the end so I still like the .4u.
 
Wow, perfect numbers today! I think the most important test besides PSs is an approximate nadir. The +3 and +9 are more for when you really want a curve to see exactly what is going on (the +9 checks for rebound, the +3 gives you more info about the rate of drop).

If you aren't sure of her nadir time, I would try to get spot tests that vary the time from around +4 to +8 to try to catch her low, and pinpoint the nadir if you can (they seem to move around a lot though, so I'm not sure if pin-pointing is very realistic). One or two nadir tests every cycle or two I think would be perfect. The other tests are good too, but in her case I think they are less important right now - I'd try for other times here and there (like a bedtime test since you probably can't get a nadir most nights anyhow).

Especially on these lower PSs, if you can get a nadir test, that gives you the data to shoot confidently on the next lower PS, and fine-tune the dose if needed.
 
Barbara said:
Robin, have you used the gel caps? If so where did you get them?

No I've never used the gel caps. I got the packets of powder from the vet.

I've also heard some people sprinkle parmesan cheese on the food to intice them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top