Thumper 6/7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 195
20 mins later - 254 shot .8
+4 - 248
PMPS - 346

She is just all over the map. I've been trying to decide if I was gonna take her to the vet. She's been eating extra food which has me puzzled, haven't noticed her wanting any extra water. I think as soon as I tell the vet about her acting hungry & that her #'s have been higher she's gonna quit listening & say she needs more insulin. It just seems weird to me that she gets these lower #'s sometimes then shoots up to 300's. I'm still wondering about infection but was kinda waiting to see if she exhibits any other symptoms. The only thing I have noticed is the breathing. It seems like she's taking short shallow breaths. I just don't know for sure that she hasn't always been like that. Oh, and she's purring like crazy. Does purring always mean they're content/happy? I guess I'm shooting .8 tonight. confused_cat
 
I would watch her breathing, any open mouth breathing or panting is something to keep an eye on. No they don't just purr when they are content, they will also purr when they are in pain or discomfort.

You've been talking about a vet visit for a while, if that is what your gut is telling you then I would do it just to make sure there isn't something going on. If the UTI hasn't cleared up, another course of AB's might make all the difference in the world.
 
Rob & Harley said:
You've been talking about a vet visit for a while, if that is what your gut is telling you then I would do it just to make sure there isn't something going on.

I think I have become "vet" shy. I feel like they always want to blame the diabetes for everything. That's why I was waiting thinking something would become obvious. She's not mouth breathing or panting. I guess I will just take her in tomorrow.
 
Hi Barbara,

Jsut wanted to let you know that I noticed when Shalespeare eats more,
especially during the day his numbers are higher, but when he eats one big meal
he has really good numbers...
just wanted to throw that out there...

sorry no dose advice from me!

If you can, try to track his eating...(like we dont track enough stuff!!)
and compare with his numbers..

Denise and Shakes
 
I'm with you on the vets Barbara. I can hear it now--- just give her the ? units it will be okay. I have treated lots of cats just like Thumper. Trust me-- you are testing too much, just give her the insulin....trust me! Call me if you need me. Debit or Credit?!

Am I close?!
 
Ya know, the vets that aren't diabetes savy probably do like to blame it for everything.

Before finding my current vet I would just take him in and get the tests and evaluation done, I would insist on certain tests stating that I'm willing to pay for it so you should be willing to do it, nod like a bobble head while I was being chastised for testing too much and for changing his insulin dose, get my AB's or whatever info I learned, left and came here for the real answers.

It's sad that it has to be like that for some of us.
 
kse said:
I'm with you on the vets Barbara. I can hear it now--- just give her the ? units it will be okay. I have treated lots of cats just like Thumper. Trust me-- you are testing too much, just give her the insulin....trust me! Call me if you need me. Debit or Credit?!

Am I close?!

LOL! Yes, except the Debit or Credit....sometimes if they are busy they will tell me just to pay them later. It just seems like a battle when I take her in there now. I will never make the mistake of taking her SS in there again. You should have seen the look on her face! I think I will lie & say she's been on 1 unit since the last time I was there, what can it hurt? They aren't gonna give her any insulin & I'm not gonna pay any attention to their dose recommendations. Now that I think of it I might just say that forever! :lol: And say "I only test her once in a while" :roll:
 
I would definitely keep an eye on the breathing, and if it keeps up I would have the vet check it out.

If you get a 195 again I would go ahead and shoot (maybe test in 10 minutes to be sure it's a rising # if you don't know from any mid-cycle tests). It's close to 200, so no need to wait on that IMO. It would be good to have the chance to gather the data so you can bring your no-shoot down closer to 150.

I'd also be inclined to stick with the 0.9? Maybe not on a 200 PS (?) but on anything higher. Just guessing on the #s here, but I'm thinking if the ketones are back a little, you want more insulin. The only recent #s that are on the low side are on the 1.2, so I think you can raise a little without worrying about lows. I would consider 1u on a 300+ PS, 0.9 on a 200+, and 0.8 if you shoot on something between 150 and 180. You are closer to the #s though than I am, that's just what I see on a quick look at the SS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top