Thumper 6/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
PMPS - 269 (last night)
+4 - 253
AMPS - 219
shot .6

It looks like I need to go up? We will see what today brings but I guess the long duration & the lower numbers she got the other day aren't gonna last.
 
What are you doing up so early Robin? :smile: Yes, I know that's why I'm a little confused. But, you know Thumper, she always likes to keep me confused....which isn't hard! Well, back to work today for me! Ugh...
 
With that drop the other day to a 91 on a 0.6u dose with a similar preshot, I'd hold steady. Could be Thumper's body is just getting used to things.
 
PMPS- 213

I'm confused & don't know anymore what I'm supposed to do. I won't be home to test until the weekend so I don't know how low she's going. Am I still supposed to be waiting 20 mins to make sure she's rising when she's under 250?

Since no one was around & I was talking to myself again :smile: I waited the 20 mins & she went up to 278. I fed her & I guess I'm sticking with .6 I still need to know about waiting the 20 mins though. I have shot lower than that before but I think I always wait the 20 mins.
 
It's always a good idea to check for a rising # especially with a lower PS. You can wait 10 or 15 minutes if you're in a hurry, and that won't put you as far off schedule, if she's on the rise another 5 minutes won't matter much.

If you won't be home to test until the weekend I'd stay with the .6u during the week (on similar PS's) and then experiment with higher doses when you can test. That's how I did it.
 
I was headed to bed....I'm exhausted & was falling asleep at my desk today! I decided to get a test in....
+3.5 - 123

Guess it's good I didn't increase, now the question is, do I need to stay up?
 
I would only worry about a rising number test if you are shooting earlier than +12, or if the # is below 150. Nothing wrong with doing one otherwise, but generally at +12 it's not a big issue, unless you had something like an inverse curve that cycle.

I'd be inclined to raise the dose a little, at least a fat .6 or maybe go to 0.7, but as long as ketones are negative and she is feeling better I don't think there's a huge rush. Tonights PS is pretty good, so you could see where she is by tomorrow night, and if you aren't seeing green nadirs, then raise a little. [ETA: Never mind! Looks like this dose is good for the moment.]
 
Oh I just saw your +3.5. Perfect!!!! Looks like she likes this dose afterall, yay!

I wouldn't stay up. If you are lucky she'll get a perfect nadir. There's plenty of room for her to move lower, and it's already enough into the cycle I wouldn't be worried on such a tiny dose.
 
Ok, got it. I never know with her since sometimes I think her nadir is later. I've never figured out how to know how much they will drop. I know....I sound like a dope...but I really don't get it! :lol: She's in here getting a snack & I've actually seen her at the food bowl more than usual tonight. There's still a whole frozen can left....for now.
 
No that's ok. The only way I knew with Bix is I tested literally hour by hour a few times, but then he was pretty consistent and the Thumps is NOT! The dose is just so low, that's why I wouldn't worry. If she was on a higher dose I would probably test again in an hour, but that dose is so low, I really think if she keeps dropping it will just be a good thing - good #s, but not dangerous. Especially if she is eating when she wants to, if she were to head on the low side she would just eat. I wouldn't raise the dose though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top