Thumper 6/25

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 217 actually +12.5
shot .6 @ +13
+4 - 91
+11 - 168
+11.5 - 158

Had to feed them. I'm 1 hr past the time she ate & I haven't checked BG again. Should I check again now? We are now @ +12.5 should I decrease to .4?
 
Ooooh, beauuuuuuuuuuuuuutiful!!! I wouldn't reduce as far as 0.4. I would either stick with the 0.6, or shoot a skinny 0.6. At most I would reduce to 0.5. Going from 0.6 to 0.4 is dropping the dose by 1/3, which is too much IMO.
 
OK, and now I just noticed tonight's shot is at least 1/2 hour past +12 (gosh, my reading skills are poor!!!! :lol: ), so never mind. I would go with 0.6 if your instinct is that this dose was good and stick with it, of if you are not feeling it, I would go with a skinny 0.6.
 
I was worried about shooting into a 158....especially since she dropped in 1/2 hr before she ate. It's been about 1.5 hrs since she ate. If I test her now will the food still be affecting the number?
 
I say test and see what she is. You're already late so why not see if the food is bringing her down any.

I like the .5u and depending on how much later maybe a f.5u.
 
Yeah but she rose from the +4 and the difference +11 +11.5 isn't enough to worry about IMO. The food could affect the reading, but I wouldn't let that throw you off. If the number is higher you could stick with 0.6, and if it's lower, go with 0.5 or a skinny 0.6, or 0.4 if you feel that's right (I think it will be too low, but you need to do what you think is right!).
 
I'm so confused! confused_cat

+13 - 222
she ate about 1.5 hrs ago

It seems as if I'm getting a little bit longer than 12 hrs on the .6 which is why I was thinking of dropping back. But, like I said I'm confused because of all the late/early shots. I will be on the go again tomorrow so I won't be home after about +13 or so.....maybe later.
 
There's not much difference between .5u & .6u. Now she's a little higher so I think either one would be fine. Go with what feels is right for you.
 
Ok, I'm gonna try .5 why do I agonize over these itty bitty decreases/increases? :roll: I just want to find a dose so I can get back to 12/12 since I have to go back to work Monday. She is doing sooooo much better though! She even jumped on the table & was going to jump over to the stove cause she smelled some pork! Makes me really think it's pancreatitis.
 
Glad she is doing better!

You should take her picture jumping over the stove and send to Mel for the cookbook.

I just toasted Thumper....for doing sooooo much better!!!!! Really!! These people on the boat think I'm crazy!
 
I hope this $110.00 blood test reveals something. If not the next time her #'s go up I will be looking out for the lethargy also.

Robin, what did you do with Harley while you were gone? I guess I've resigned myself to the fact that DH & I won't be able to leave at the same time for awhile. Poor Harley, I'm glad you're back with him & he's better! And we missed you too! :smile:
 
I'm not sure you are going to get a tidy 12/12, sorry to break it to you! The thing is her pancreas appears to be sputtering, so when that happens from what I have seen if they hit good nadirs they will tend to get duration past +12. If they don't get good nadirs they are shootable at +12, but the tradeoff there is no good nadir. There are times when that is acceptable, but with her ketone history I think you need to go for the good nadirs and live with the late shots.

The only other thing I can think of is to try one of the Ls b/c then you can still shoot on a lower #, in fact with them I think you have to stick pretty tightly to 12/12. I would stick with PZI for now though if you can (why mess with an insulin change that could set you back, when she is doing well).

You are doing really well with the late shots, and I think there is still hope that her pancreas will take over altogether. The more you can keep her in the 50 - 80 range, the more that promotes pancreas healing.

Great that she is feeling better, that is AWESOME news.
 
kse said:
You should take her picture jumping over the stove and send to Mel for the cookbook.

I just toasted Thumper....for doing sooooo much better!!!!! Really!! These people on the boat think I'm crazy!

Are you really on a boat? I wouldn't let her jump over there...I was waiting to see if BG was gonna rise after the first test so I didn't want her to eat anything. They were acting like they hadn't eaten in a week so her & Petey got on the table & thought they were gonna get to the pork roast!
 
Can Thumper travel in the car?

If so, you and DH can have my beach house and bring Thumper with you! It can't be but a couple of hours from you.
 
Kim, face it, we are crazy :-D .

I missed you guys too, I felt so disconnected not being able to log on.

I boarded Harley at a vet clinic. But I'm considering a road trip taking the whole petting zoo with me. It sounds a little crazy when I say it out loud.

drinking24 Cheers to your boat people Kim, the lovely Lauren and I are about to watch a couple of movies.
 
kse said:
Can Thumper travel in the car?

If so, you and DH can have my beach house and bring Thumper with you! It can't be but a couple of hours from you.

She doesn't like it. Thanks for the offer but I would be afraid to take her. :smile:
 
Good grief, if I left Thumper at my vet they would kill her! Feeding her that DM stuff or whatever that is & always shooting 1 unit....no way could I do that! But, I think you said you have a good vet now?

I'm way too busy....gotta run again & I've got a full day tomorrow! And I don't believe I have to go back to work Monday. Ugh....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top