Thumper 6/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS this morning was in the 170's I waited about 40 mins & she went up to around 240. I stuck with the .25. I can't quote my exact #'s cause I forgot to bring them to work with me. I was running late cause my civvie Petey got into some milk DH left within his reach so he proceeded to puke about 7 times....of course all over the house...well until I caught him & locked him in the bathroom till he was done! Never a dull moment at my house! ohmygod_smile
 
Now that sounds like a lactose intollerant cat. Messy. Sorry you had to go through that right before work.

Sneakers loves milk and can have it anytime... until she got DX and no-go on the milk-o. And the cream cheese, and the regular cheese, and the... pretty much anything I used to give her :lol: .
 
I have another civvie that loves milk & ice cream but she barfs almost immediately after even tasting it. She begs for it all the time, makes me feel bad for not giving it to her!
 
Sneakers expected it every time I got some she wanted some. So when I was weening Sneakers off of it I'd wait until she left the room and creep the fridge door open, pour, and ease the door shut so she wouldn't come running.

Never really worked, though. She always came galloping in wondering what I took out of the fridge :lol: .
 
Anyone try lactaid milk for your cats? I have become lactose intolerant (as near as I can tell) and can't even put cream in my coffee :sad: I get the local grocery chain's whole milk with lactase added and use that instead. I sometimes give Beau a tiny amount of it. My other cats I have never given milk to so they don't miss it or want it. I do give them plain, lowfat Greek yogurt sometimes. Beau loves it, the others not so much. It's hit and miss. Jeddie used to love it, but he can't manage it now and doesn't really want it.

Of course, if it's the casein that they are having trouble with lactaid milk won't help.
 
Today's numbers:
AMPS - 175
40 mins later 242
shot .25
+6 - 367
+11 - 459
PMPS - 405
shot .25

dont' know what to think of the difference between +11 & PMPS. I'm thinking I need to increase tomorrow?
 
Looks like it, but not back to .5u since that brought her way down from 400 to (at least) 100 after skipping a shot.

You could even try .25u for another day and see what happens. She might still be swinging from that dose mentioned above. If you do raise her, try going to .35u or .4u. Look at the instructions for drawing small doses in the Lev 101 Sticky: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=682 Links to the photos and instructions are below the first chart.
 
Hi Barbara,

Occasionally we'll see a cat drop between +11 and +12 on Levemir, after having already nadired. We have even considered Lev capable of causing double nadirs. It could be do to the nature of its action, that maybe some of it got hung up on the albumin or something and all of a sudden it releases. (No, I am not a chemist and have no idea how that would happen, but I welcome a better explanation for the phenomenon)

I don't think that's what happened today for Thumper though. It's literally all because you shot 40 minutes late. There was no overlap left and the late .25u dose just couldn't catch up.

So I think it's well worth staying with .25u for a few more days. I think she will eventually even out at lower BGs. I hope today's action after the 175 convinced you it would have been safe to shoot the .25u at that BG level at +12. Levemir has a slow onset, so she probably would still have been 242 3/4th an hour later even if you'd given the shot. That's why it's important to get those early BGs or to wait and test again later on a low preshot in the beginning so you can see what happens with insulin or without insulin and feel more comfortable shooting those low preshots. They need to be shot in order for Levemir to work properly.
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
I hope today's action after the 175 convinced you it would have been safe to shoot the .25u at that BG level at +12.

Thanks for the input Vicky! I def. would have shot into that 175, my no shoot # is 100 but I must admit when it's close to 100 & I'm not going to be home sometimes I worry. I stalled on that 175 due to the 300's she was getting the night before, I wanted to make sure she wasn't still dropping. Her shot ended up being about 25-30 mins late cause I actually tested her about 10 mins early. When she was on Lantus she would give me lower readings from one PS to the next sometimes. I just went ahead & shot her regular dose. I've always wondered about doing that though since on Pro Zinc we would wait 20-30 mins & retest if the PS was lower than the previous one. I hate waiting & restesting cause they all act like they're gonna die and it seems to happen a lot in the morning when I'm on a tight schedule! I'd much rather test & shoot no matter what her PS was the night before, as long as it was over 100. I can't remember her #'s now but I actually think her PS this morning was lower than her +4 last night but I just went ahead & shot since she was in the 300's.

I did increase just a drop this morning since she was still in the 300's. I really struggle with anything lower than .5! I will update the SS tonight since I forgot to write #'s down again!
 
It never hurts to wait on shooting so much that a no-shoot number should be ignored. Yeah, the cat might think it's hurting though! I do like the fact that when someone waits and tests and gets a rising number that they have more confidence the next time that it will be OK to shoot that low at the appropriate shot time.

You're doing well. There's always this period of uncertainty in the beginning, especially when they do what Thumper did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top