Thumper 5/30

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
got a +5 last night of 253

AMPS - 254
+3 - 197

And the good news is I finally caught her peeing & the ketones are reading negative! I also took someone over on health's advice & used natural light to read the strip.
 
Yay for negative ketones, I like the tip about reading the stick in daylight.

It looks like you are going to have a great day.

Happy Memorial Day.
 
Wow! It is turning out to be a good day!

+6 - 96

flip_cat

I just hope she doesn't go up again! I think she's ready for me to go back to work & quit poking her ear. :lol:
 
Barbara said:
I just hope she doesn't go up again!
Ok, she has diabetes, so I think we can say with 99% certainty she WILL go up again. :lol: So ... brace for it!!!! :mrgreen: Don't be discouraged if the next cycle is flat & higher. I'm not sure that it will be, but if she isn't used to greens it's possible. It looks like you may have a good dose, so barring radical change (which we can probably predict with 50% certainty :lol: ) I'd tend to hold this dose for a bit and see how it goes.

In any case, today is beuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutiful, yay! :-D
 
Ok, I knew it was too good to be true....that we could find a dose, shoot and get on a routine. This has really got me confused.

PMPS - 56

I'm feeding her NOW!
BRB
 
Oh wow, what a curve ball! But I tell ya it's a good curve ball! :mrgreen:

It's tough for me to distinguish if 1.2 is too much, or if you have some pancreas action and that is the explanation.

In any case, I would definitely give a shot once the #s are on the rise and over 150. I might give 1u? Kind of a wild guess. It looks clear-cut to me that 0.8 is too low, 1.4 is too high, and 1.2 possibly too high. So I would play around with anything between maybe 1u to a skinny 1.2 and see if you can find the place where you get good but not too good numbers.

The key thing I think is to keep with a decent dose. If you reduce too fast on low PSs and good responses like today, you risk ketones coming back. I think your last test was 100% negative though, right, so at least that gives you a little breathing room.
 
The typical pattern (not to say Thumper isn't special! :mrgreen: ) is you will reach a poop-out point somewhere between now and probably the next hour or two and will start zooming pretty fast. That's kind of the PZI thang. The trick is to catch the rise before it gets to high #s. I might test every 30 minutes? ECID, so it's hard to predict when it will happen. If you see 150 I would shoot.
 
Yes, the pee test was negative this morning.

Gotta tell you I'm scared to death! Why would she be dropping like this when in 15 mins it will be 12 hrs? Oh, I guess I was 30 mins early trying to get back on schedule. And why is she still dropping? Testing again in 15 mins
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Barbara said:
I just hope she doesn't go up again!
Ok, she has diabetes, so I think we can say with 99% certainty she WILL go up again. :lol: So ... brace for it!!!! :mrgreen:

Oh darn, I guess Thumper didn't care for my joke! :lol: :lol: :lol: I am humbled. :roll:
 
Oh don't be scared, it's good! She's not going to hypo, no need to test every 15 minutes. I would certainly let her eat though if she is hungry.

It either because the dose was too high and she's dropping late (typical PZI pattern), or she got in good enough #s for long enough that her pancreas has joined the party and is keeping her in good #s.

Even if is was from the dose too high though, she's not going to hypo. The insulin is well past peak, and if her body kept her from fully utilizing it during the peak stretch, she not going to hypo now. 50 is a good #, and only scary at something like a +3 where the insulin is not yet at peak.
 
What I really meant was high like over 300 again! She's not interested in any more FF but my daughter got the deli meat out, chicken breast & she loves that so I gave her some.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Oh don't be scared, it's good! She's not going to hypo, no need to test every 15 minutes. I would certainly let her eat though if she is hungry.

Even if is was from the dose too high though, she's not going to hypo. The insulin is well past peak, and if her body kept her from fully utilizing it during the peak stretch, she not going to hypo now. 50 is a good #, and only scary at something like a +3 where the insulin is not yet at peak.

Ok, that's what worried me, especially since she went down 2 points after eating.
 
It will take a few minutes for the food to kick in and start bringing her up but it will. Don't be scared, you know what to do and you are prepared. 50 is a decent #, hypo #'s are more like in the 30's.
 
I need to know how to syringe feed. I never really thought of it but she wasn't that interested in her dinner so I started wondering what the heck was I gonna do if she wouldn't eat.
 
When she gets to a shootable point, shoot a dose that will let you sleep tonight. If something like 1u is going to have you up all night nailbite_smile then I would shoot less. Ketones are negative, so there is some leeway. Don't go down to 0.5 or something though, that is almost certainly going to be too little. I'd say 0.8 to 1.1u, whatever you feel most comfortable with.

Remember too the shot will be late and will have less oomph because of that. If the shot ends up being at say +14, a shot of 1.2 would be more or less the equivalent of 1u at +12. So if you shoot 0.8 at +14 that's really like shooting 0.6 for a normal shot, so likely quite a bit too low. Does that make sense? I roughly use 0.1 per hour as the adjusting factor. So if you shoot at +13, you might shoot 1.1, that would be like shooting 1u at +12. Or if that seems scary, you could shoot 0.9, which would be like 0.8 at a regular shot time.

Obviously don't want you to lose progress, but also don't want any more wonky lows over night. It's kind of a guessing game - you have some high & low brackets to guide you, so you take a pick, gather data, and keep refining it. Hopefully she'll be in consistently good #s in no time!!! I know it's scary, but it's really good to have some breakthrough #s for her finally! YAY!
 
Yes, that's what I was wondering. A couple of early shots which shouldn't have much effect but maybe we didn't shave enough off the dose.

Anyway, she will be fine, and now she has seen where she needs to be, :smile: in the 50's.
 
Barbara said:
I need to know how to syringe feed. I never really thought of it but she wasn't that interested in her dinner so I started wondering what the heck was I gonna do if she wouldn't eat.

First off, there is no need at a +12. If she is going low she will eat. The exception would be a health issue like nausea keeping them from eating, but in that case you wouldn't want to syringe feed anyway. If there's nothing like that in the picture though and she is not acting hungry, then she is fine.

Still if it is something that would help you feel good to know how to do it, it's no biggie, you just need the bigger syringe and the right food - I think it's A/D, that is a consistency that goes well in the syringe. Your vet will have the right stuff, you could ask them to sell you a syringe and a couple cans of the food to keep on hand.

I wouldn't bother personally. A couple times when I felt like I needed Bix to eat, I just pushed a few bites of food in his mouth. Usually just 2 or 3 bites of HC will bring their BGs up, so it's not like you need to get a syringe full in them or anything.
 
Actually this is kind of what happens when you get close to regulation. You go up, you go up, you go up, you have a breakthrough and you start back peddling, going down, going down until you find that just right dose. That's why they call this a dance and right now you are dancing as fast as you can.

Breeeathe.
 
[/quote]
I wouldn't bother personally. A couple times when I felt like I needed Bix to eat, I just pushed a few bites of food in his mouth. Usually just 2 or 3 bites of HC will bring their BGs up, so it's not like you need to get a syringe full in them or anything.[/quote]

Now that made me laugh! I was just reading about syringe feeding on the hypo sheet. I never thought of it before cause she always wants to eat. She will always eat the deli meat but I don't always have it on hand.

Going to test again ....brb
 
Sorry Robin I was just asking about the syringe in case she ever went low & wouldn't eat. I just gave her regular FF & the deli meat.
 
Tried to check ketones with this BRAND NEW meter & the stupid battery is low so it won't work. Guess I didn't notice the blinking battery that said it was getting low. I was just gonna check out of curiosity.
 
I just realized she's really only at +12.5 right now! I was trying to get back on schedule so checked her about 15 mins. before shot so I would have time to feed her. Then once I saw that 56 I just freaked. :oops:
 
Don't worry about it, we all have freaked out seeing that first 50, just like their bodies get used to the higher bg's we get used to seeing them too and freak out like her liver does when it gets back to seeing normal bg's.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Actually this is kind of what happens when you get close to regulation. You go up, you go up, you go up, you have a breakthrough and you start back peddling, going down, going down until you find that just right dose. That's why they call this a dance and right now you are dancing as fast as you can.

I don't like this dance! :lol:
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
I don't like this dance!
Rob & Harley said:
Actually this is kind of what happens when you get close to regulation. You go up, you go up, you go up, you have a breakthrough and you start back peddling, going down, going down until you find that just right dose. That's why they call this a dance and right now you are dancing as fast as you can.

I don't like this dance! :lol:

Maybe not but you earned your tap shoes today. :-D
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
What are you thinking you will do for tonight's shot?

I was just reading your earlier post trying to figure that out. I always get caught up in the 1 U didn't seem to be enough, 1.4 seemed to be too much, I thought 1.2 was gonna be it but now? Then I have to really think about it cause it's gonna be late and I've got to work tomorrow. Can I even go by the formula you gave earlier? Since it looks like 1.2 is too much also?
 
So it sounds like you are leaning towards 1.1? It's really just a guessing game. 1u maybe was not enough because you needed a BAM dose to breakthrough, you got that, and so now maybe 1u is enough. On the other hand, maybe not. I would stay under 1.2 and over 0.8. In that range I think you have a good chance of hitting decent #s w/o overdoing it.

If tomorrow's shot will have to be early, you could shoot a little on the lighter side tonight to be certain you will get a shootable PS in the morning. That would be better I think than risking her being too low in the morning and you have to either skip the shot, or panic about what to do, etc.

If it were me I think I would probably do 1u. Not so high you have to be worried about her going low, and not so low that you are all but guaranteed a yellow night. It's just a guess though. I would go with what feels right to you - you are closer to the #s than anyone else, and the best way to learn is to shoot what seems right to you, and then evaluate how that goes.
 
Sorry I missed the excitement!

We've never seen 50-- can only imagine how I would react!

On a positive note-- it appears you are getting close to finding the dose.
 
So 1 U at +13 would be like .8? And yes whatever time I shoot tonight the morning shot will be less than 12 hrs.
 
I agree with Joanna, you don't want to lose your momentum but you need to wait until she gets back up to 150 for sure.

Chicken S#$t me would go with 1u.

Lucky for you I'm going out to dinner with my son and granddaughter now for his birthday so you and Joanna can work out the dose.

I'll check back in when I get back.
 
kse said:
Sorry I missed the excitement!

On a positive note-- it appears you are getting close to finding the dose.

I've had quite enough excitement for the weekend! Kept me up all night one night, now this. It's giving me a headache trying to figure it all out. nailbite_smile
 
Rob & Harley said:
I agree with Joanna, you don't want to lose your momentum but you need to wait until she gets back up to 150 for sure.

Chicken S#$t me would go with 1u.

Lucky for you I'm going out to dinner with my son and granddaughter now for his birthday so you and Joanna can work out the dose.

I'll check back in when I get back.

Have fun! Joanna, don't leave me yet! I'm gonna go check her again, it's been 45 mins. BRB
 
I'd say more like a 0.9. If you want to go with a little more, I think that is fine too! There's no right answer. Well, maybe someone knows, but not me. :mrgreen: Besides I predicted she would go up by +12 and I got *that* wrong! LOL
 
Barbara said:
I've had quite enough excitement for the weekend! Kept me up all night one night, now this. It's giving me a headache trying to figure it all out. nailbite_smile

Ah, I guess it's time for an official welcome to the Overthinkers Anonymous club. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Really I'd just pick what will let you sleep soundly and once she is at 150 go ahead with that. It's unlikely to be exactly the perfect dose at this point - too much varied response to be able to say what will happen. So the goal is to keep her from going high or low overnight, and land at a shootable PS in the AM, and then just keep refining it from there. You are fortunate that you have a nice bracket set up, so no need to agonize over it (even if I have previous implied you should! LOL), I'd just pick something & go with that and see where you land.
 
We got 90 now & that's a +13.

So assuming it's gonna be more like +14 before she gets to 150 and we think 1.2 might be too much, if I shot 1.2 that would be like shooting 1 Unit at +12, but then I have to consider she would be getting her AM shot at +10. Good grief....
 
I'd probably still go with 1u when she hits 150 and not worry about it. Might be too low a dose, but you'll have an early shot anyhow in the morning and ketones are negative, so no biggie. Really it's just a guess. 1.2 at +14 I think would be fine, 1u fine, 0.8 probably too low. 1.2 has some risk she won't be shootable by +10 in the morning, 1u risks a flat yellow cycle tonight. It's a toss up really, go with your gut if she ever gets to 150. :)
 
Ok, I don't want to keep you. I'm not gonna test her again for another 35 mins. IF she were somehow to 150 by then it would be +14 & I will shoot 1 Unit. That would put her at +10 for tomorrow morning. Now.....assuming she's over 150 tomorrow morning & knowing I won't be home with her what should I shoot then? ohmygod_smile

And IF she's back over 250 should I go back to 1 unit or 1.1??????
 
Hmmm, let's see what #s you get tonight and what you end up shooting, and then think about AMPS after that. I'm West coast, so it's still early here! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top