Thumper 5/26

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 274 so shooting 1 Unit

A little relieved I don't have to scramble to figure out what to do but at the same time wishing her #'s would have stayed low. Guess it was for sure due to having no food out yesterday. Thanks! Also wishing I didn't have to go to work!
 
Well, you have some more data to consider. Food may impact her bg levels - not going down with frequent meals but going down with less food. So she may be one of those kitties that does better with spaced out meals rather than grazing. Maybe something to experiment with after she is off the antibiotics and things are more back to normal.

Be sure to put the food note on yesterday's SS so we all remember it and don't look at that lower number and wonder what happened....
 
PMPS - 254 shot 1 Unit
So we are back to same old same old! She seems fine. I'm ready for some lower #'s though! Is it "normal" for some cats to stay in the yellows?
 
Will you be able to get some mid cycle numbers this weekend, Barbara? It would be interesting to know what her nadir is. Regulated cats hang out in the 200s at pre shot and 100s at nadir. She isn't terribly far from there.
 
You havn't see a pink in 4 days, that's progress.

I've heard both sides of the feeding debate. Mostly vets recommend twice a day feeding with no snacks and most here recommend small snacks during the day. I've tried both with Harley and found out that, if he gets a frozen snack for later his bg's at PS are usually lower than if I forget to put out the snack.
 
If they stay in the yellows it probably means they are not getting enough insulin. Hopefully she is hitting blues mid-cycle though? Can you get any mid-cycle check in tonight or tomorrow? If you aren't seeing low blues or greens I would consider a dose increase - anywhere from a fat 1 to 1.2 depending on where the mid-cycle #s are hitting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top