Thumper 5/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 362

Where the heck did that come from? I even got up at regular time. I went ahead & stayed at what I guess I'm gonna call .25, it's so difficult to tell though.
 
Yikes, where did that come from. Well you thought she might change things up and she didn't disappoint.

Lets see what she does today. Maybe now that you've stopped the swings from high to low she may need a little more juice.
 
Yes, where did that come from? Looks like you had a lovely day yesterday all in the blues with the fat .2u. Let's see what Thumper does on the .25u. Paws crossed for some nice #'s.
 
I'm going to be gone this afternoon and don't know what time I'll be home. Depending on what the f.2u does on this PS if your PMPS is 180 or below I might skinny it up. The .25u & .3u is working on those 300's so it may be a tich to much for the lower #'s.

Something like
160 to 180 - skinny .2u
180 to 250 - .2u
over 250 - fat .2u

I hope you have a great day.
 
This girl is just a mystery.

+4 247
+8 116

I wasn't home to get a +6. I started calling the dose .25 cause I really can't see it well enough to tell where I am. I'm just getting somewhere in between. So Robin, if it was too much would that have caused her BG to be up this morning?
 
What time (i.e. in +12 terms) was last night's shot vs. this mornings? If last night's was late enough, that could explain the high PS this morning. Also sometimes their poop-out point can vary. You might get a blue one day and a black the next b/c for whatever reason the insulin pooped out a little sooner one day vs. the next.
 
I'd see what tonight's PS is, but sometimes the later nadir like that is a sign the dose is just a hair high. I'm guessing she won't be shootable at +12 tonight, but we'll see. You may only need 0.2u. I'm not worried about hypo though, just being a perfectionist. :-D She is doing great, and there is wiggle room - I mean I wouldn't shoot 1u or anything like that, but I wouldnt nailbite_smile over getting the fat/skinny/exact formula perfect. You go with what you think is best, gather data, and refine it for the next shot.
 
Joanna, we were within 20-30 mins of the 12 hrs this morning from last night's shot. Sometimes I'm trying to be right on time but it depends on how long it takes to get their food out & get them eating. My boy likes to get all in the way so sometimes it takes me longer. :smile: I'm getting ready to do PMPS....brb.
 
PMPS - 181 so I guess we're good. I'm going with .2 according to what Robin posted earlier. Joanna, I'm sorry I'm just a bit slow I guess but I don't get the nadir. I'm still wondering why the heck she was so high this morning? I guess that's what you are saying about the poop out? I know ya'll must think I'm nutty or something....I never have been a technical person...good thing I didn't try to be a nurse or anything like that! Heck, when my kids were little I made their dad bandage their boo boo's. :lol:
 
No you're not nutty at all! No worries - we really don't expect anyone to catch on to a lot of it right away. It takes months til it really clicks in place - some are lucky and their cats go OTJ before that of course.

The high # this morning could be from several things - dose was too high, dose was too low, stress or food caused a spike, insulin pooped out, or general wonkiness. I wouldn't worry about it too much - sometimes it just happens. The rule of thumb is lower the dose immediately on a low number (nadir under 50 or PS under 150), but don't raise immediately on a high PS. You wait a little and see if it is a pattern, or just a fluke.

Hope tonight goes great! Awesome PS, yay!
 
I'm glad to see that Thumper brushed up on our game plan and got back on track.

You're not nutty, it's a lot to learn in a very short time while while stressed and scared. We've all been there.

You're doing great and so is Thumper!
 
+4 - 148

That's my last one for tonight. Now the big question will be tomorrow morning when I'm on a schedule. Should I just stick to the dose plan that Robin laid out earlier for PMPS?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top