No you're not nutty at all! No worries - we really don't expect anyone to catch on to a lot of it right away. It takes months til it really clicks in place - some are lucky and their cats go OTJ before that of course.
The high # this morning could be from several things - dose was too high, dose was too low, stress or food caused a spike, insulin pooped out, or general wonkiness. I wouldn't worry about it too much - sometimes it just happens. The rule of thumb is lower the dose immediately on a low number (nadir under 50 or PS under 150), but don't raise immediately on a high PS. You wait a little and see if it is a pattern, or just a fluke.
Hope tonight goes great! Awesome PS, yay!