Thumper 4/30 need help PMPS I think

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
just updated SS...I've been gone all day.
AMPS 173
waited 25 min then got 182
I was getting ready to leave was gonna be gone all morning so I fed & went ahead & shot what I would say was a fat .2

My husband checked her BG at +4.5 and she was 107!! I got him to make sure she ate some LC food. I just got home and her +9 is 137! YAY! BUT, I'm gonna need help with PM dose! Of course she might get up to 180 but should I stay with the "fat" .2? I will be home tonight.
 
Beautiful numbers. I would stay with a fat .2u as long as you get back up to a shootable number.

Like we were talking about last night it looks like .25u may be your best dose for now.
 
I think I'm confused again as to what's my shoot number. As long as she's 180 & climbing with no food?
 
Today proves to you that you can safely shoot a 180. Shooting lower numbers starts getting trickier because there isn't much of a dose to back off from.

But with today's data you can make decisions on future doses based on how Thumper responded today. Her nadir wasn't too low so that tells you that you can shoot a f.2u on a lower number. Dose that make more sense?
 
Yes, it does! Thanks! Knowing her though just cause I think I have a plan something will change up....like she won't get to 180 & I won't be able to shoot. I'm hoping that won't happen though.
 
Me too. They always change it up, it's their job, that's why they call this a sugar dance because they always keep us on our toes.
 
First attempt at PMPS is 167...just what I was afraid of. I'm waiting....and so are they. That's one of the problems, they all have figured out what time I feed them & now they are all giving me looks. So hopefully she will get top 180 in 20 mins...but what if she doesn't? Does this indicate the "fat" .2 is too much?
 
No I don't think the f.2u was too much. It looks like it was just right. Her nadir didn't go to low today so you can shoot the f.2u into a lower number and your PMPS is just slightly lower than AMPS. Make sure you have a rising # and go ahead and shoot.

Yay Thumper!!!!
 
Grrr....hope that wasn't a fur shot. I've never done that before but a few times lately she has meowed at me when I give her shot & sometimes tries to move away. Well, tonight she moved but I think I got it all in before she did & I don't feel anything damp. She still seems to eat more than anyone else but I don't know what she was eating before since I just left the dry out all the time.
 
+3 - 153

I'm sticking with the same tomorrow. I might actually allow myself to sleep in a bit tomorrow though...maybe an extra hour. Will that totally mess us up?
 
If you didn't feel wet fur or smell the insulin it probably wasn't a fur shot.

The +3 is good, she's dropping gently.

Sorry but if you shoot late it might mess things up just when you've made so much progress. A late shot is a dose decrease and may not have as much oomph. Let us know what you do so we can make the adjustments.

Have a great night.
 
Ok, I will get my lazy self up at regular time. :YMSIGH:

LOL! I barely even let my kids get me up on the weekends when they were little....I'm not a morning person! I just hope she has a shootable # & then I might feed shoot & go back to bed! :smile:
 
Sounds like a plan.

LOL, I wasn't a morning person either a few years ago. But there is something about a cat standing on your chest screaming in your face for food while your dead asleep that kinda gets your attention. :lol:

We'll deal with it in the morning.

Nite
 
Woohoo, beautiful numbers today, YAY!

Remember the baseline no-shoot with PZI is 150. Using one that is higher, like 180, is so you have a margin for error while gathering data to be sure 150 is safe. So the idea is you don't have to be nailbite_smile on shooting a 180 when you are data-ready for it. So if you get PSs below 150 your dose might be too high, but something like a 167 is perfect, you just need a teensy bit more data to feel confident shooting on that. I think you are almost there, and it looks like she gets perfect PSs, so I think you are set up very nicely.

One thing to keep in mind is that a shot has a bit less oomph when shot late, so when you get back to the point of shooting at +12s, you may need to pare back just a teensy bit on the dose to compensate for it being right at +12 (which can mean more oomph). Depends on how late you are shooting these days - 20 minutes isn't much to worry about, vs. if you are shooting say 2 hrs late, then you would want to adjust the dose accordingly for a +12.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top