Thumper 4/24

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
SS updated! I shot .5 again this AM since AMPS was 276, at least today was lower than yesterday's AM.

+2 - 323
+4 - 249

I will continue the every 2 hrs today & hopefully that will reveal what's going on with her. confused_cat
 
Morning, if you keep getting a flatish curve today I would start thinking about lowering your dose.

Those two low mornings suggest that the .5u was too much insulin, the following high flat days could support that.

Hopping for better numbers today.
 
When it's flatish it can be either from the dose too high or the dose too low. I'd try a lower dose 1st and see if you get back to blue #s. If you don't in a couple cycles, then I'd try a higher dose. Personally I wouldn't worry about getting a huge amount of data today. Nothing wrong with it if you can get it and that appeals to you, but I don't know that it will tell you a lot since you have a curve from yesterday. At this point what you don't know is whether the #s you are seeing are a product of the dose being a bit too high, or if she's now sat in these numbers for long enough that the dose has become too low. I think you'll only know with a dose change.

In any case, hope today goes great and you have a nice Easter!
 
I'm with ya Barbara. It can be confusing cause the same thing can mean two very different things. I like the suggestion from Robin and Joanna to take the dose down a little, even though Thumper's #'s are a little higher, since she had a couple days where the .5u may have been a hair too much. If you don't see better #'s, then you go to the next alternative of increasing. Hope you and Thumper have a happy Easter and nice #'s!
 
I have to agree with Joanna on this...that flatish line looks like it's wanting more juice not less.
A high flat line would mean maybe too much juice...but his was just a coasting midline number....up the dose from Lori :razz:
 
Anyone here? Just took PMPS & it's 202. I'm waiting 20 mins & testing again. I need more advice on what to shoot? Hope someone gets this. These #'s look nuts to me....I was thinking after the +10 she would be headed back up not down? What the heck?
 
let us know your next number. don't shoot a falling .... right? believe it or not this is really a good sign.
 
Lori or someone! I hope you're still here. BG is now 219.....what do I do? I typically feed her & while she's eating shoot, but HOW much do I shoot?
 
Right, you don't want to shoot a falling number. Wait 20 - 30 minutes and test again and let us know what you get.

I'm going to sound like a broken record but I think you need to reduce your dose.
 
Breath Barbara, this is ok. feed her, wait another half hour to test. i personally would wait an hour but you can test a half hour after her meal.
this is not a bad thing ok.
 
Ok Lori, I'm feeding & will test again in 1/2 hr....will you still be here? :smile: And Robin, I don't care if you sound like a broked record....I'm hard headed! BRB!!
 
hi joanna, thumpers been up and down today so i suggested waiting to make sure he's still going up. he's no steady eddie that's for sure!
 
yez joanna you ez gud!
as for feeding...why withold food and have a starving kitty. stress will also raise numbers.
after 1/2 to 45 minutes a low carb meal will not show any spike in the #'s
but denying food might.
 
So wait 1/2 hr AFTER she eats to test again? I have to be on a schedule tomorrow, I have to leave her about 1.5 hrs after eating & insulin typically so don't want to wait too long tonight. Waiting 1/2 hr after eating puts me at about 45 mins later than usual shot time.

I just noticed a reply to yesterday's post....can't remember who, maybe Robin? asked about her getting into some other kind of food or treats. Answer is no. Dry food gone & she's never been a treat eater, I got some Whole Life freeze dried turkey though & she's been eating them. I would venture to guess my big boy Petey might be annoying her.....he does pick on her sometimes. AND, I think it might have been Friday night he chased her under the bed.
 
barbara since there is the possibility that the food will lift her numbers i think 45 minutes would be more prudent.
as for your schedule...shooting a bit early will be ok. your going to be shooting less tonight as is. maybe half as much less so let's see where the numbers take us.
as for you am shot....keep it low. let's just go with a general dose decreas for now as she really holds her own on this insulin and this dose.
 
what did you give her for dinner barbara? do you know the carb amount in that meal?
 
It says Classic Chopped Grill Feast - I printed out a list from the board somewhere - says is was updated Nov. 2010 - Gluten Free, Low Carb wet cat food
 
Sometimes she eats what the others leave but tonight she only ate her 1/2 can....I have a bunch of grazers. My big boy....who needs to loose weight begs ALL the time but usually doesn't even finish his 1/2 can...he comes back a lot though!
 
Robin is concerned that the meal will alter your next test #'s. It very likely will. I just don't think it will enuf to be concerned about.
sooooo, let's see what your next number is and shoot low. waiting waitin waiting........
 
i was beginning to think you left! so, .3 can you manage to put a magnifying glass up and eek out .3 just a smidge over the first half unit mark on the u100 syringe.
 
and barbara, please pile all the numbers you got on your ss. you can put 2 or even 3 different number in one box by hitting the space bar 3 times after each tested number. you were steadily on the rise.
 
Nope, I was here....she finished eating @ 6:45 so was waiting till 7:30 Eastern time.

Ok, going for .3...this is bad on my eyes. LOL!

And, I will get a +2 later....but I will be shooting again in 11 hrs....BRB
 
ok, so you had a
+12 202
+12.5 218 fed
+13 250ish.

and you'll get a test in 2 hours or so.
you did good :mrgreen:

perhaps next time we won't feed until your actually ready to shoot so that the number may not be a food spike.
but for tonight this all worked out.
 
Boy, that was hard to see and these syringes are Walgreens brand, I'm guessing that's why I was having a hard time with air bubbles! I've never had a problem with that before. It was difficult to get just .3 & get rid of that bubble. Anyway, I will be back with a +2 later. I probably won't have time in the morning to check in here so assuming she doesn't go any lower than say 150 & she's rising after a 20 min. wait with no food I will shoot .3 again?
 
thinking....ok, yes. you can shoot anything over 150 as long as you can see that it is rising and at that low of a number just go with the half unit mark which is .2
Since you are leaving and won't be home to watch him.
If you were home...I'd do .3
 
Also, is there any way to manipulate the SS to add a +12 column or add a 1/2 hr reading? Mine looks off but I put in the notes what was really going on.
 
Hi Barbara, here is a good reference to have on hand. It has alot of great information in it.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

I would be very careful about shooting into a bg of 150 if you are not going to be around to keep an eye on things.

Usually when lowering our no shoot number from 200 we suggest to lower to 180 and find out how your doses are working on that. When you have enough experience shooting into a 180 you can lower to 150.

Good luck.

Robin
 
She may well be higher in the morning due to the late shot. I wouldn't raise the dose though on that, I'd just stick with what you are doing.
 
+2.5 - 296

Plan is if she is under between 180 & 200 I will retest in 20 mins. without feeding. If she is going up I will shoot .3 units. If she's under 180 I will again test in 20 mins. but might lower the dose to .2 units? Now I'm nervous again....and I think I'd rather be on the safe side.
 
hey thumper...time to turn around now...your going the wrong direction.

i'll be lookin for you in the morning barbara...your number anyway. good luck and paws crossed for an uneventful shootable number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top