Vanda Kay and Landa
Member Since 2025
Hi again,
I now have nearly 3.5 weeks of data on the ss and I'm still not understanding what's going on or what to do about the dosing. The SLGS method is definitely for me - I don't have the ability or nerves to go for TR - and yet this morning we went down to 58 a mere 2 hours after the PM shot. I just can't figure out Landa's pattern. Is her nadir at +12-14 did her BG level just drop like a stone overnight because I finally managed to get some sleep? Why did her BG drop so quickly post shot, from 239 to 69 in just 2 hours? Should I have given a reduced dose this morning (her AMPS was 239)? I really don't have the mental resources to deal with BG numbers that go down that low and I can't always be here to monitor or have someone keep an eye on her. And het her highs are still in the high 300s or higher. I guess I have to go back down on 0.75 after that nadir this morning, but is that enough of a dose reduction to avoid this again? It doesn't help that her appetite isn't great at the moment. I took her to see a new vet on Friday who has been highly recommended by a few friends but she wasn't in today. I was told over the phone that another vet at the practice got my message and said not to reduce the dose. That seems nuts! Please help!
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-amps-192-what-to-do.299365/#post-3256522
I now have nearly 3.5 weeks of data on the ss and I'm still not understanding what's going on or what to do about the dosing. The SLGS method is definitely for me - I don't have the ability or nerves to go for TR - and yet this morning we went down to 58 a mere 2 hours after the PM shot. I just can't figure out Landa's pattern. Is her nadir at +12-14 did her BG level just drop like a stone overnight because I finally managed to get some sleep? Why did her BG drop so quickly post shot, from 239 to 69 in just 2 hours? Should I have given a reduced dose this morning (her AMPS was 239)? I really don't have the mental resources to deal with BG numbers that go down that low and I can't always be here to monitor or have someone keep an eye on her. And het her highs are still in the high 300s or higher. I guess I have to go back down on 0.75 after that nadir this morning, but is that enough of a dose reduction to avoid this again? It doesn't help that her appetite isn't great at the moment. I took her to see a new vet on Friday who has been highly recommended by a few friends but she wasn't in today. I was told over the phone that another vet at the practice got my message and said not to reduce the dose. That seems nuts! Please help!
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-amps-192-what-to-do.299365/#post-3256522
Last edited: