Nancyco*
Member Since 2023
I thought I was getting somewhere until the last reading ? Any thoughts ? https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yk-jFlafVK3LPYKAl7C1Ej3q6KPPe5M4ryMiB6TOP5w/edit
Thank you very much .Bailie is probably bouncing from the lower than normal preshot this morning. Very common in newly diagnosed diabetic cats and nothing to worry about. Just keep feeding and giving the insulin as you have been. Explanation on bouncing below.
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Nice to see you posting here. We have a format on how to post . I’ll share the link.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/#post-2589451
Your subject should read :
11/30 Bailie PMPS ### Thoughts?
You could also use tge question mark prefix from the drop down list.
Bron answered your question I think.