Thoughts on Sparky's Spreadsheet?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm liking seeing the numbers come down.... but, today's PMPS is low enough that I don't want to give a shot. But, I don't want him to start bouncing all over the place either. :eek:

I can't wait much longer to feed him because I only have 1/2 hour before I have to leave the house. And, when Sparky's hungry.... he's HUNGRY!
 
Hi Jennifer. Hope I am catching you in time. We generally don't recommend giving insulin at a PMPS under 200 until you have lots of data to know exactly how kitty is responding and with an insulin like Vetsulin that can drop BG pretty quickly and steeply, it's safer at least in the early days to just skip the shot. Sparky will get back on track pretty quickly and you won't lose any ground. :)
 
That's what I was planning on doing. We are just seeing some nice numbers and a tiny bit of consistency... then he goes a throws a monkey wrench in things! LOL

I know there's no way he'd get a full dose being as low as he is now.... guess I'll test later and see what's going on. Wonder if his transition to wet food is helping? (He is still getting a portion of his dry mixed with his wet food)
 
Reducing the dry food is most likely helping immensely. Looking good so far! I think he's just come out of a bounce and you don't know if he went lower earlier in today's cycle. It may be that he's heading for another dose reduction! Fingers crossed Sparky continues to improve.:D
 
His morning BG was only 371. I thought for sure it'd be much higher... especially since he peed on the rug again. Ugh!

There's no way I can draw 1.25... it's hard enough drawing 1.5. I'm sure at some point I will have to get different needles. I'm seriously considering dropping his dose to 1 unit. I'll see how things look when I get off work today.
 
Dang.... PMPS is 131 today! Definitely no shot tonight. And, I'm thinking we're going to lower his AM dose from 1.5 to 1.

Unfortunately, I've been working a lot more than normal so I'm not here to do any testing during the morning/afternoon. Hopefully I can get a few more tests in this weekend (between work shifts... because working at a funeral home means never having a normal life/schedule!)
 
What a wonderful start to the cycle today. It would be a good idea to monitor a bit more closely today to see how low Sparky goes on that tiny dose. Going forward if he still needs the tiny dose, you could make some coloured water and draw it up in an old syringe to where you want the tiny dose to be and then use that as a sample syringe for comparison to keep consistency in dosing. Consistency is more important than being right on exactly 0.25u or whatever for example.
 
+6 he is at 126. I'm gonna have to get those tiny syringes. I'll need advice on how to get them... do I need a script from my vet? Can you just buy them at the store? I'd prefer not to wait for mail-order.
 
The only way to get the U40 syringes with half unit markings would be through a pet pharmacy which usually means online ordering unless there is one in your area. Doubtful your vet would keep a stock of them either.

The other alternative, if you can buy syringes OTC without a prescription (I am not sure what the laws are in Ohio), you can go to Walmart or any pharmacy and get u100 syringes 3/10ml, 31 gauge, 8 mm needle with half unit markings and use this Conversion Chart to give small doses. Any brand with those specifications will do but Walmart Relion brand are less expensive.
 
If you need a Rx at the pharmacy, I'm sure they ask you to fax a copy of the script to order online. Even if you are ordering from a retailer out of state, I'm guessing they'd still be required to uphold the laws of the state you are ordering from.
 
Although I'm thrilled with Sparky's numbers.... I'm beginning to realize that they just aren't low enough for no insulin.... or, am I wrong?

I ordered new syringes... It's way too difficult to dose anything below 0.5 units with any accuracy with our current supply. Who knew this would be a problem?!?!

Now, how do I find a diaper for a cat missing one back leg? He's gonna have to live in the shed if he continues to pee all over my house! (I'm joking....) No, he doesn't have a UTI.... he's had bladder issues most of his life... I know when he's got an infection. ;)
 
Looks like Sparky's numbers might be coming down on their own. He's not quite in the "I don't need insulin any more", range but he's pretty close. I've seen this happen before and admittedly it can be difficult when using an insulin like Vetsulin because of the early action it causes. Another member was going to switch over to a longer acting insulin to be able to continue dosing to get over the hump but her kitty decided that wasn't necessary and he went into remission on his own and is still there. So it's quite possible that's what Sparky has in mind too.

Has Sparky always had issues peeing in inappropriate places or did that just start with the diabetes? If you are serious about diapers, the only thing I can think of is those reusable pants with diaper inserts. You could stitch up the one leg hole in the pants for a leak proof snugger fit. ;)
 
AMPS was 106 this morning. He didn't have any insulin yesterday! Of course this would happen the same day I order new needles. ;)

Yes, Sparky has always had pee issues... the diabetes made it worse... but, now that his BG is under control.... it's back to random inappropriate peeing....
 
Put the needles away in the cupboard and just threaten to use them. :woot: The pet parent of the cat I mentioned had bought the longer acting insulin and didn't use ANY of it although there were a lot of days of threatening to do so before OTJ was declared! :smuggrin:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top