Amy and Owl
Member Since 2026
Relevant prior thread.
It was suggested to me by my vet and also by the feline diabetes Facebook group that reducing Owl's dose down to .25u might help with the rapid drop and then the sharp rise we are seeing during his cycle.
Today his AMPS bg was around 175 and, as usual, he nosedived swiftly after his .5u injection. His numbers went low enough they were no longer readable by the Libre. I had to test him with the Relion multiple times to assure myself he was not hypo. The lowest number I got was 88.
I know that Owl is not going low enough by TR standards to warrant a reduction, but the extreme lows recorded by the libre are honestly frustrating to deal with. Our vet consulted with an internal medicine specialist and they both wanted to see what would happen on a lower dose.
Initially my vet wanted me to only give Owl insulin in the AM and skip the PM shot to see what he'd do. We've done that before and I did not like the outcome (very high numbers for several days, vomiting.) I said no to skipping and asked if we could try instead a lower dose to see if that helped even out his curve.
We did .25u this evening and are going to see what happens. His numbers on the Libre at +1 were 375, significantly higher than his PS of 194.
What should we look for going forward to gauge if this reduction is working and how long should we wait before returning to the .5u dose? Our goal is really just to even out his curve a bit so we don't spend hours in the alarm zone on the Libre. I can't turn the alarm off and it's been rough. Using food, even mixing in higher carb food, didn't do much at all to slow the drop post shot.
Please feel free to tell me I am making a mistake and need to return to the .5u shot in the morning. I'm not currently home to update his spreadsheet but this is a screenshot of his Libre from today.
It was suggested to me by my vet and also by the feline diabetes Facebook group that reducing Owl's dose down to .25u might help with the rapid drop and then the sharp rise we are seeing during his cycle.
Today his AMPS bg was around 175 and, as usual, he nosedived swiftly after his .5u injection. His numbers went low enough they were no longer readable by the Libre. I had to test him with the Relion multiple times to assure myself he was not hypo. The lowest number I got was 88.
I know that Owl is not going low enough by TR standards to warrant a reduction, but the extreme lows recorded by the libre are honestly frustrating to deal with. Our vet consulted with an internal medicine specialist and they both wanted to see what would happen on a lower dose.
Initially my vet wanted me to only give Owl insulin in the AM and skip the PM shot to see what he'd do. We've done that before and I did not like the outcome (very high numbers for several days, vomiting.) I said no to skipping and asked if we could try instead a lower dose to see if that helped even out his curve.
We did .25u this evening and are going to see what happens. His numbers on the Libre at +1 were 375, significantly higher than his PS of 194.
What should we look for going forward to gauge if this reduction is working and how long should we wait before returning to the .5u dose? Our goal is really just to even out his curve a bit so we don't spend hours in the alarm zone on the Libre. I can't turn the alarm off and it's been rough. Using food, even mixing in higher carb food, didn't do much at all to slow the drop post shot.
Please feel free to tell me I am making a mistake and need to return to the .5u shot in the morning. I'm not currently home to update his spreadsheet but this is a screenshot of his Libre from today.