Thomas PMPS 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
I'm worried Thomas will bounce again. This am he was 272 and I gave 1 unit. He had 1/2 can of FF, then an hour later the other half. This evening he is at 73 and I gave him 1/2 can, no insulin. When he did this yesterday, 60 am no insulin, he bounced and was way high in the evening. I am concerned he will bounce again, how can I stop this? It is so hard on his little body.

Sonya
 
Uffta Thomas! (thats MN talk ;-) )

Bouncing happens to almost every cat. Some are more dramatic than others. Boy does he have potential to clear them FAST tho! :shock: That's a good thing. :mrgreen:

I think skipping the shot again was a good way to be safe rather than sorry. You are just beginning to learn Thomas' patterns. Its going to make it hard to get a grasp on his pattern right away, but that is ok. The most important thing is that he will be safe.

Can you check his BG again in an hour or two, to see which way it is going? But DONT shoot insulin, even if its creeping up.

Most of us will try to leave food out for their cats up until about +6. Is that something you could do for Thomas? This way if he is going low during the day, he can feed himself.

Also, I was wondering how much He weighs. Are 2 cans of ff enough?
 
I also want to add..
Yesterday when he shot up so high due to bouncing and a missed shot, he also had been given kibble...right?
No kibble at all today. So lets anxiously await and see if he does not go so high this time around!!!! :mrgreen:
 
If you gave 1u this am to a 272 and he's at 73 12 hours later, you were very wise to skip this shot, but you should expect for a little bit of a bounce in the morn because you gave no insulin tonite.... that's OK though.
Just drop the dose down to .5u in the morn and wait for the bounce to clear... Thomas will be OK.

Post here if you get any other tests and also if you have any questions.

ETA: I bet you are really glad you switched to the low carb wet food and took away the dry food!
It's made such a HUGE difference so there is no more need for that big 5u doses now.
 
One hour later, Thomas is now at 109 and I gave him the other half can of FF.

I'll check again before bedtime.

If he's up to 600 again tomorrow morning, that's what he did on the bounce yesterday, should I only give him 1/2 unit? Not a full unit? Then back off to 1/2 the next time?

And I really appreciate all this help. It is very scary.

Thanks to everyone!

Sonya
 
I think if you are ONLY feeding the wet food, unable to get lots of spot checks, and not around...then .5u is safer than 1u!

Once you get a consistent dose on the new fudz that keeps him at safe levels, then we can start looking at patterns and all that good stuff.

I will anxiously await the bed test (good job testing btw!!!)

ETA: I think if you cannot test tomorrow, you should think of a a no shot number. Maybe if he is around 150, you do not shoot ANY insulin. What do you think?
 
Sonya,
It is more dangerous to have a number too low than a number that is high, so I would still give the 1/2unit dose in the morn ... the number may be high in the morning because you gave no insulin tonite.
If you bring down the dose, you should see more level curves.... you want a curve that is like a smile, with amps and pmps around the same number, and the middle should have a dip lower.
What you are seeing is a complete slant from a high at amps right down to a low at pmps. So you skip that shot and then you have the high numbers again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top